National award nomination for F4 driving ace

Race ace Sennan Fielding has been shortlisted as one of four finalists for a prestigious national award.

Friday, 14th October 2016, 2:22 pm
Updated Tuesday, 25th October 2016, 2:34 pm

Derbyshire-born Fielding is up for the 2016 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award. along with Toby Sowery, Ricky Collard and Lando Norris.

Fielding, who finished runner-up in the 2016 British F4 Championship with five wins, said: “It means so much to me. I’m over the moon and I’ll give it everything I’ve got.

“I’m maturing and the fire in my belly to win races and make it is just getting bigger and bigger. I’m more determined than ever,

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

“I’ve hit so many brick walls and I just get back up and I’m stronger for it.

“Having hard times will only make me better. This time I know what to expect and I’m not going to disappoint anyone.”

BRDC president Derek Warwick said although Sennan had more experience than his British F4 opposition, his JHR team was inexperienced.

“JHR does not have the wealth of single-seater knowledge available to rival Carlin, and Fielding put together a fine championship challenge after a difficult mid-season,” said Warwick.

“He has also shown he can battle through adversity to win races. We first saw him in the award in 2014 and he should be a strong finalist this time around.”

The McLaren Autosport BRDC Award dates to 1989 and was established to recognise the best young racing talent from the UK.

Members of the public are invited to nominate drivers before a shortlist of finalists is decided upon by a judging panel.

The finalists will undertake two days of driving, plus simulator and fitness tests, as well as interviews with the judging panel.

They will take to the wheel of F2, DTM and GT3 cars, and will be tested in the McLaren simulator, as they look to impress the panel of judges, which this year will include Warwick, McLaren GT managing director Andrew Kirkaldy, two-time British Touring Car champion Jason Plato, leading circuit commentator Ian Titchmarsh, McLaren representative Mark Williams, Autosport features editor Scott Mitchell and Autosporteditor Kevin Turner. Le Mans winner David Brabham will be this year’s guest judge.

This year will also see just four finalists instead of six.

The winner will be appointed as a paid McLaren simulator driver and join the McLaren Young Driver Programme. They will also receive a McLaren F1 test drive, full BRDC membership and an Arai GP-6 RC carbon race helmet.

The 2016 Autosport Awards will be held on Sunday, December 4, at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London.