Grassroots heroes of Derbyshire football are honoured

An event to reward and recognise the grassroots volunteers who put countless hours into football for the love of their club and their sport has been staged by the Derbyshire County FA (DCFA).

Tuesday, 2nd August 2016, 2:29 pm
Updated Tuesday, 2nd August 2016, 3:34 pm
GRASSROOTS GREATS -- some of the winners at the Derbyshire County FA awards evening.

The awards evening, held last Friday at Derby County’s iPro Stadium, was a celebration of the season and the many developments that have taken place throughout the county. On show was the FA Cup, giving guests the chance to have their photo taken with one of the nation’s most coveted trophies.

The full list of winners is:

FA Football Futures Ambassadors – Josh Holland, Rian Finney; DCFA Disability Football Player of the Year – Billy Lee Dixon; DCFA Disability Football Coach of the Year – Liam Drake; DCFA Disability Football Club of the Year - Riverside Juniors FC; DCFA Respect Club of the Year – Wingerworth J.S.A.; DCFA Respect League of the Year – Derby Junior Football League; DCFA Respect Team of the Year – AFC Chellaston Rangers U10s; DCFA Administrator of the Year – Jill Crossland (Tintwistle Athletic FC); DCFA Grassroots Coach of the Year – Ben Saxton (Shipley Park Rangers FC); DCFA Young Referee of the Year – Thomas Hales; DCFA Referee of the Year – James Oldham.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

DCFA Referee Volunteer of the Year – Rob Shoebridge; DCFA Groundsman of the Year Award third place – Nicky Buckley (Tideswell United FC); DCFA Groundsman of the Year Award runner-Up – Barry Stevenson (Mickleover RBL FC); DCFA Groundsman of the Year Award winner – Lee Watson (Clay Cross Town FC); FA Charter Standard Club of the Year – Somersall Rangers FC; FA Charter Standard Development Club of the Year – Borrowash Victoria Juniors FC; FA Charter Standard Community Club of the Year – Sandiacre Town Youth FC.

FA Charter Standard League of the Year - Derby City Football League; FA Young Volunteer of the Year – Liam Amos (Tintwistle Athletic FC); FA Volunteer of the Year – Dave Cholerton (Derby County Ladies FC); Outstanding Contribution to Community Football – Tim Sadler (Newbold Community Football Training); DCFA Contribution to Recreational Football – Derbyshire Walking Football League Long Service Awards – Barry Whitehead, Geoff Weir, Bryan Bond.

Dawn Heron, chief executive officer at the DCFA, said: “The awards evening was another opportunity to highlight the fantastic work carried out by many volunteers in the game. The passion and enthusiasm shown by all recipients was heartfelt and a credit to the amazing work that volunteers play in football.

“I congratulate all the winners and also all the people who put hours of volunteering hours into football. It was a fabulous evening and a great chance to showcase and reward all of the hard work that continually goes on in Derbyshire.”

The DCFA also thanked 3aaa, McDonalds, Replay Maintenance, Beth Fletcher Photography, Hansons and SportsGuard for supporting the awards event.