Conservatives remain in control of Derbyshire Dales District Council

The Conservatives have retained control of Derbyshire Dales District Council.

Friday, 8th May 2015, 7:09 pm

The party won 29 seats - the same number as in 2011 - to win an overall majority.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Labour again secured just five seats on the council and the Liberal Democrats three, one less than four years ago.

Independent Colin Swindell took the uncontested seat of Winster and South Darley, while Thomas Elliott, with no party affiliation, won in the Lathkill and Bradford ward.

There was a surprise casualty in the Matlock All Saints ward, where deputy leader Geoff Stevens lost his seat, finishing fourth behind Lib Dems’ Susan and Martin Burfoot, and Conservative Ann Elliott.