Album tops the charts

A COLLECTION of songs by a Buxton musician has been voted ‘Album of the Year’ by a radio station’s listeners.

In a poll of progressive and ambient artists releases for 2012 by listeners to rock radio station ARFM Soundscapes Radio, Rob Gould’s The Broken Road topped the chart, beating acts such as Marillion, Steve Hackett and It Bites to the number one spot.

The latest release is Gould’s sixth solo album, and his first in five years.

It also features High Peak artists Fiona Ford and Lesley Davies (vocals), Richard Taylor, Jason Gilman-Hawkes and Christian Butler (guitars) and Buxton’s Nigel Moss on bass, as well as Gerard MacDonald (sax) and two Brazilian musicians Eduardo Capella (guitar) and Fernanda Gollo (vocal) from Gould’s days in Rio-based Celtic-rock band ‘Ashtar’.

Some of the tracks from The Broken Road also have local connections.

The title track and ‘The Shimmering Mountain’ are two descriptive songs pertaining to Castleton’s famous landmarks.

Local photographer Simon Harrod took the cover shots on The Broken Road and recently-opened tunnels in Millers Dale.

More details on The Broken Road can be found by visiting, along with information on how to purchase copies of the album.

It can also be downloaded on Amazon and iTunes.