Your chance to nominate a sporting hero!

Derbyshire’s sporting heroes will be honoured at the 2012 Derbyshire Sports Awards later this year – and now is your chance to make sure that your sporting star is among them.

Nomination forms for the awards are now available, and Derbyshire residents are being invited to put forward dedicated sports volunteers, hardworking coaches and talented athletes from across Derbyshire who they think are deserving of recognition.

Local authorities in Derbyshire will reward winners in their district later this year, and winners will then go forward to be considered for the Derbyshire Sports Awards, sponsored by the University of Derby. County winners will be announced in November.

Categories include Sportsperson of the Year, Junior Sportsman and Sportswoman, Disabled Sportsperson of the Year, Junior Disabled Sportsperson, Coach of the Year, Young Sports Leader/Young Coach of the Year and Club of the Year, as well as the Service to Sport Award.

Entry forms and full details can be found at The closing date for nominations is September 10.

Last year’s winners included Chesterfield table tennis star Liam Pitchford, who was named University of Derby Sportsperson of the Year; footballer Mason Bennett, from Langwith, who was the winner in the International Golf Development Junior Sportsman of the Year category; Colin Deaton Table Tennis Club volunteer Daryl Hone, who won the Service to Sport award; and Shirebrook Rangers FC which was named the Cooper Parry Club of the Year.

An Active Workplace Award and a Sport Sponsorship Award will also be presented at county level at the Derbyshire Sports Awards.

The Active Workplace Award will recognise workplaces that demonstrate a commitment to improving the health and wellbeing of their employees by encouraging staff to be more active.

The Sport Sponsorship Award will be presented to an organisation which has contributed £1,000 or more to an amateur or community sports project through financial and in-kind support, resulting in positive outcomes for the project and participants.

Full details of the Active Workplace Award and Sport Sponsorship Award can also be found at The deadline for nominations for both awards is September 28.