Yas limbers up with second-placed finish

TOP shot-putter Yasmin Spencer was called up by the England selectors for an U20s international match versus Scotland and Wales in Cardiff, writes Frank Gorman.

The Ashover-based athlete finished second with 12.52m in her first competition of the year behind Kirsty Yates of Scotland (12.94m).

Meanwhile, Chesterfield Athletics Club provided more than a third of the strong Derbyshire Athletics squad which won both the girls and the boys sections of the Aviva ‘Fun in Athletics’ U11s Regional Sportshall final at Grantham.

Pushed all the way by teams from Nottinghamshire and Leicestershire, the Derbyshire youngsters held their own across the wide range of events designed to test speed, agility, strength, skill and co-ordination.

Boys: Harry Blount, James Brewster, Alex Ediker, Merlin Ferrhino, George Taylor and Oliver Ball.

Girls: Ashleigh Keable, Jennifer Smith and Abigail Turner.

The Derbyshire girls performed strongly in the relay events, winning five out of a possible eight.

Abigail Turner came third in the chest push, and Ashleigh Keeble was third equal in the speed bounce, with Dayna Towns (2Dash), also third equal in the target throw, keeping the points rolling in.

The Derbyshire boys also won five out of a possible eight relay events, with three of those won by Derby’s Todd Webster and Chesterfield’s Merlin Ferrinho.

In the field, George Taylor (Chesterfield DAC) finished second in the chest push.

Fourteen club athletes have been named in the Derbyshire Sportshall teams to contest the U13/15 East Midlands Regional Championships at Grantham on Sunday week.

U13G: Shannon Ashmore, Ella Barrett, Megan Cowen, Abbie Queenan, Emma Schaanning, Corey Wilson.

U13B: William Ediker, Callum Kay, Josh Hough, James Murphy. U15G: Alicia Collings, Leanne Smith. U15B: James Elliott, Dominic Hare, Will Stockton.

The athletes have a tremendous standard to aspire to, as all four age-groups won their category in each of the last two years and went on to represent the region in the national finals at Birmingham NEC winning team and individual medals.