Ward and Pearson notch half centuries


Holmesfield rattled up a weighty total when they visited Dronfield Woodhouse in Division One of the Inkxtra-sponsored Chesterfield Midweek Cricket League.

They reached a total of 183-6 with good knocks coming from D Ward 54, J Pearson 53 and M Rodgers 46 not out.

The only wicket takers for Dronfield Woodhouse were B Lambon 1-21 and T Wilson 1-22.

In reply Dronfield reached 153-5 with L Braddock 50, T Wilson 27 not out, T Baggaley 24 and J Hunt 21.

Wicket takers for Holmesfield were E Green 1-9 M Cartwright 1-20 M Singleton 1-22 and P Eville 1-23.

At Morton, thanks mainly to D Ashley 49 not out and J Horton 26, Holmewood reached a total of 132-6 in their allotted overs.

Pick of the bowling figures for Morton were P VanRensborg 3-20, J Lomas 1-17 and J Clarke 1-25.

In reply Morton scored 118-8 with R Hadfield top scoring on 50 and J Talbert 15.

Best bowling figures for Holmewood were T Taylor 3-24, P Ashley 2-5 and A Gee 1-21.

At Stonelow, Chesterfield Barbarians reached a total of 112-5 with Tom Peach scoring 30.

Best bowler on show for Coal Aston was J Crabtree with 1-24.

Coal Aston then reached their target for the loss of four wickets ending on 116-4 with top scorer being D Hemmingway 49.

Best bowler for Barbarians was D Hopkinson who took 1-10.

In Division Two at Hundall, M Keshwala scored 50, L Mantle 19 and R Brown 15 as Tupton Rugby Club scored 137 all out.

Pick of the bowlers for Hundall were H Virdee 2-15, R Marshall 2-16 and both A Timms and A Dawson 2-24.

Hundall were then bowled out for 82 with D Thompson 22, A Timms 13 and A Dawson 12 being top scorers.

Best bowlers for Tupton were N Brown 3-9, S Curry 2-3 and R Brown 2-7

In Division Three at Brearley Park, Cutthorpe batted first and in their allotted overs reached a total of 120-7 with best batsmen being J Cartledge 37, J McCullum 18 and J Thompson 15.

Pick of the bowlers for Whittington Wanderers were M Johnson 2-20, P Whiteley 1-7 and D Whiteley 1-10.

Whittington were then bowled out for 31 with top scorer being J Lukose with ten.

Pick of the bowlers for Cutthorpe were J Thompson 4 -3 runs and both D Nelis and R Thorpe 2-7.