Veda leads ladies to two-up county triumph

Matlock Golf Club ladies who won a Derbyshire title
Matlock Golf Club ladies who won a Derbyshire title

The backdrop of Kedleston Hall inspired Matlock Golf Club’s Ladies’ bronze team to a two-up victory over Ormonde Fields in the final of the Derbyshire interclub foursomes knockout tournament.

After seeing off teams from Ashbourne, Stanedge and Shirland in earlier rounds the Matlock pairings of Sheila Allen, Jenny Lee, Diane Gray and Jill Smith did not lose heart after trailing by three holes at the half way point.

Team captain Veda Kay said: “It was a pleasure to watch the teams play in such a stunning location and I am thrilled with the win.”

Matlock last won this competition in 2004.

Team members pictured above (from left) are Jill Smith, Di Gray, captain Veda Kay, Sheila Allen, Jenny Lee.

Results of the Ladies Par Medal Final: Winner Emily Morris 82 (14) 68, 2nd Jill Smith 92 (23) 69, 3rd Judy Gascoigne 80 (11) 69.

Meanwhile, Shaun Marples has won the Walker Cup at Stanedge Golf Club.

The 27-hole all-winners competition saw Shaun win with a net score of 99. In second was Norman Shaw (102) while John Leigh was third with 103.

The Autumn Stableford first division event was won by Eamonn Chapman with 43 points while Gary Clarke topped the second division with the same score.

Tim Clark won the third division with 44 points.

The October medal was blessed with fine weather with the thermometer hitting 26C even at 1,000 feet at Stanedge.

The first division went to Phil Armstrong with a net of 66 while Adrian Lyons took the second division honours with net 63.

Former Chesterfield FC footballer Gary Pollard scooped division three with a net 64.