Tupton Hall girls are toasted at Derbyshire’s big sports awards night

WINNERS -- Tupton Hall U12 girls' football team, who won the secondary school team of the year award.
WINNERS -- Tupton Hall U12 girls' football team, who won the secondary school team of the year award.

Proud Tupton Hall School had an evening to remember at the 2015 Derbyshire Schools’ Sports Association (DSSA) awards ceremony in front of more than 200 guests at Chesterfield FC’s Proact Stadium.

For their U12 girls’ football team won the secondary school team of the year category, pipping the girls’ badminton squad of Ecclesbourne School, Belper, and the basketball side of Noel-Baker School, Derby.

Tupton were nominated after being crowned national champions at the FA Youth Futsal Festival, having progressed from district and county finals. The team also went on to make the last four of the ESFA National Cup and the last eight of the Football League Kinder+ Sport competition, where they were just one game away from a national final at Wembley Stadium.

The girls in the team who collected their award were: Katy Webster, Mollie Stanley, Abbie Greaves, Leah Harrison, Elizabeth Clayton, Elodie Edwards, Olivia Buckley, Aidan Greenfield, Emma Wilbourne, Millie Standen, Georgia Hagues-Stirk and Maisie Glasby-Hemmings.

One of Tupton Hall’s pupils, Lauren Hill, was also nominated for the top award of the night, sportsperson of the year, after her gold medal at the English Schools Athletics Championships in the javelin. Fourteen-year-old Tilly Simpson, of Eckington School, was nominated too as the reigning 800m national outdoor and indoor champion in her age group and holder of the English schools junior 800m title.

The Chesterfield area had other successes, with 16-year-old Josh Ryder-Flint, of Hasland Hall Community School, highly commended in the young leader/ambassador (secondary schools) category. Football enthusiast Josh has helped participation levels increase at his school, and been involved in coaching and refereeing.

Meanwhile adult volunteer Nia Yule and media and arts contributor to school sport Katie Marshall, both of Brookfield Community School, were highly commended in their respective categories. Nia has promoted dance at the school during her 11 years working there, while 18-year-old Katie has designed badges that are awarded to students in sport leadership programmes at 84 schools

Slightly further afield, Palterton Primary School pupils Anya Horsley and Fern Clifford were highly commended in the media and arts contribution to school sport category, as were Clowne’s Heritage High School dancers. Anya and Fern wrote a report about the Derbyshire School Games, at which the Heritage dancers performed.

Also announced on the night were the winners of the Derbyshire School Games championship trophies, with Dronfield Henry Fanshawe confirmed as champion secondary school. Joint primary schools’ champions were the North-East Derbyshire School Sport Partnership, along with High Peak School Sport Partnership, while Chesterfield School Sport Partnership were both secondary schools’ champions and Competition Plus champions.

The special guest for the night was 25-year-old shot putter Sam Ruddock, who represented Great Britain at the London 2012 Paralympic Games, while also in attendance was the Mayor of Chesterfield, Councillor Barry Bingham.

Other category winners included: sportsperson of the year, Bradley Moore (golf), of Allestree Woodlands School; primary school sportsperson of the year, Grace Longden (cycling), of Buxworth Primary School; disability sportsperson of the year, Thomas Spicer (table tennis), of Littleover Community School; primary school team of the year, Loscoe Primary School football team; disability team award, Allestree Woodlands School’s hearing-impaired athletics team; primary school young leader of the year, Mia Lockwood, of Grange Primary School; secondary school young leader of the year, Sam James, of Chellaston Academy.