Top awards for leading athletes and coaches

Chesterfield and NE Derbyshire Sports Awards winners
Chesterfield and NE Derbyshire Sports Awards winners

Athletes, sports coaches and volunteers celebrated success across a variety of categories at the Chesterfield & North East Derbyshire Sports Awards 2012.

The awards are a way of recognising and celebrating the sporting successes of athletes and those involved in sport at all levels and all nominees are either a resident or member of a club from Chesterfield and North East Derbyshire.

Cllr Amanda Sergeant, Executive Member for Leisure, Culture and Tourism at Chesterfield Borough Council said: “The Olympics and Paralympics have certainly given sport a much higher profile and these awards highlight the exceptional talent that already exists in our region, and hopefully the sports stars of the future.”

Cllr Graham Baxter MBE, Leader of NE Derbyshire District Council, said: “There are some exceptional sportsmen and sports women across North East Derbyshire so it’s great to be able to reward their hard work, dedication and talent through the Sports Awards. I wish them all the very best with their future sporting careers.”

The awards and winners were: Sportsperson of the Year - Liam Pitchford; Young Sports Leader/Coach of the Year - Luke Sheldon and Oliver Hooper; Junior Sportswoman of the Year - Tyler Bexton and Isobel Ashley; Junior Sportsman of the Year - Adam Morewood and Ashley Davies; Coach of the Year - Robbie Sivyer; Club of the Year - Chesterfield Town FC; Service to Sport Award - Gordon Staines; Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year - Callum Edwards.

The winners from the Chesterfield and NE Derbyshire Awards will be judged for the Derbyshire Sports Awards to be held at the Roundhouse, Derby, on November 15

The winners of the individual performer categories will receive a free annual membership to a Chesterfield Borough Council or North East Derbyshire District Council leisure facility, to aid the performers training programme.