Walton Holymoorside and Holmehall retain U11s titles

editorial image

Pupils from Walton Holymoorside Primary School retained their U11s crown at the Chesterfield Table Tennis Team Championships held at Springwell Community School.

Such was the level of competition, the boys needed a count back with Old Hall Junior School after a series of tense matches. Holmehall and St Mary’s also competed with five boys and three girls teams.

Holmehall Primary School also made it a successful return to the table after last year’s win by taking the honours in the U11s girls section.

“For some of the young players, it was the first time experience and credit to them they were not overawed by the occasion,” said Mel Buxton.

“The tournament was played with good team spirit and the competitors were a credit there respective schools.

“Kieran Pell of Walton Holymoorside deserves a special mention as he played throughout the tournament without dropping a set.”

The winning teams now go through to represent Chesterfield in the Derbyshire Schools Finals to be held on December 2 at Springwell Community College from 2-6pm.

The Chesterfield and District Table Tennis Championships will be held on Sunday, April 19, 2015 at Springwell Community College from 9am-6pm.

This will be for players who wish to enter the senior events. The junior events will be held at the same venue but on Friday evening April 17, 2015.

Latest results from Chesterfield League

Division One (sponsored by Certax Accounting): Colin Deaton C 10 Hollingwood A 0; Colin Deaton A 7 BH Cylinders B 3; BH Cylinders C 3 Rowsley A 7; Rowsley A 3 Pilsley A 7; Speedwell A 6 BH Cylinders C 4.

Division Two (sponsored by Wallace Beds): Rowsley B 6 Pilsley B 4; Sherland Merlins 4 Chesterfield Police 6; Holmewood A 6 Colin Deaton D 4; Chesterfield Police 8 Rowsley B 2; Speedwell B 5 Colin Deaton E 5.

Division Three: Pilsley C 9 Clay Cross TT 1; Hollingwood B 4 Wingerworth B 6; AGD 6 Oxcroft mw B 4.

Division Four: Colin Deaton G 4 Holmewood B 6; Oxcroft mw C 6 Colin Deaton G 4; Holymoorside B 4 Holmewood B 6; Speedwell C 9 Wingerworth E 1.

Division Five: Colin Deaton J 4 Wingerworth G 6; Holymoorside D 5 Pilsley D 5; Wingerworth H 4 Colin Deaton I 6.