Table tennis: Jake crowned Chesterfield champion

Jake Miekle
Jake Miekle

Jake Meikle played his way to the men’s singles title at the Chesterfield Closed Table Tennis Championships held at Springwell Community School.

The Colin Deaton Table Tennis Academy star defeated Shaun Bibby of Speedwell in the final by three games to one - 11-9, 7-11, 14-12, 11-6.

The turning point of the match came when it was poised at one game all and Meikle was 10-4 down in the third game before making a remarkable recovery to come back to 10-10 before finally winning the game 12-10.

Meikle went on to win the U18s, U21s - where he beat club colleague Mark Firth in a thrilling contest - and men’s doubles with club colleague Tim Denby.

He also made it through to the mixed doubles with Lauren Banks of the Holymoorside to help his chances of being voted Player of the Tournament at the annual awards ceremony in May.

While CDTTA’s Kerry Radford took the ladies singles title after she defeated the ever improving Frances Baker of the Speedwell 13-11, 11-4 and 11-7 in the final.

Championship Results

U11s Girls: 1 Jessica Henry of Speedwell; 2 Katrina Bennett of Pilsley.

U13s Boys: 1 Robin Pearson of Colin Deaton; 2 Harry Beresford of Colin Deaton.

U13s Girls: 1 Charlotte Henry of Speedwell; 2 Bess Heath of the Holymoorside.

U15s Boys: 1 Alex Tilley of the Colin Deaton; 2 Lucas King of Pilsley.

U15s Girls: 1 Charlotte Henry of Speedwell; 2 Elise Beatson of Colin Deaton.

U18s Boys: 1 Jake Meikle of Colin Deaton; 2 Alex Tilley of Colin Deaton.

U18s Girls: 1 Amber Zygadlo of Colin Deaton; 2 Emily Kelly of Colin Deaton.

Junior Doubles: 1 Alex Tilley and Nathan Langley; 2 Connor Sargeant and Harry Beresford of Colin Deaton.

Ladies Doubles: 1 Kerry Radford and Frances Baker; 2 Emily Kelly and Lauren Banks.

Mixed Doubles: 1 Dave Kelly and Kerry Radford: 2 Jake Meikle and Lauren Banks.

Men’s Doubles: 1 Jake Meikle and Tim Denby; 2 Shaun Bibby and Steve Young.

Veterans O40s: 1 Shaun Bibby of Speedwell; 2 Steve Young and Dave Kelly of Colin Deaton.

Handicap singles: 1 Lucas King of Pilsley; 2 Matthew Crowe also of Pilsley.