Table tennis: Derbyshire stars shine at county championships

Tim Denby
Tim Denby

Rising table tennis stars from around the county shined at the County Table Tennis Championships.

Derbyshire’s top juniors were encouraged by wins over Cheshire and Staffordshire but came undone against a highly-rated Lancashire team.

Jake Meikle, Tim Denby, Mark Firth and Emily Kelly from the Colin Deaton Table Tennis Academy and Lauren Banks from Holymoorside Table Tennis Club represented Derbyshire.

Banks showed no nerves on her county debut and helped the side get off to a fine start with a 10-0 win over Cheshire.

The team continued to perform with a 9-1 defeat of Staffordshire before going toe to toe against a strong Lancashire line-up.

Denby won the only game as Derbyshire sank to a 9-1 defeat. The score did not reflect the match as five games could have gone either way.

Results from the Chesterfield and District Table Tennis League

Division One: Colin Deaton B 5 Rowsley A 5; Colin Deaton A 8 Colin Deaton C 2; Bridge st meths 6 Pilsley A 4; BH Cylinders A 9 Colin Deaton B 1; BH Cylinders A 8 Speedwell A 2; Rowsley A 5 Colin Deaton A 5; Colin Deaton C 3 Cylinders B 7; Pilsley B 2 Colin Deaton C 8.

Division Two: Colin Deaton D 4 Colin Deaton E 6; Chesterfield Police 6 Whitworth 4; Staveley mw A 5 Chesterfield Police 5; Chesterfield Police 5 Staveley mw A 5; Chesterfield Police 7 Wingerworth A 3; Chesterfield Police 4 Colin Deaton E 6; Whitworth 7 Colin Deaton D 3; Wingerworth A 6 Oxcroft mw A 4; BH Cylinders C 6 Holmewood A 4; Holmewood A 5 Colin Deaton E 5; Staveley mw A 4 BH Cylinders C 6.

Division Three: Colin Deaton G 5 Clay Cross A 5; Clay Cross A 8 Wingerworth B 2; Staveley mw B 4 Colin Deaton F 6; Wingerworth C 6 Holymoorside A 4; Colin Deaton G 8 Oxcroft mw C 2; Colin Deaton F 4 Oxcroft mw B 6; Staveley mw B 4 Holymoorside A 6.

Division Four: Holmewood B 4 AGD 6; Pilsley C 1 Speedwell D 9; Colin Deaton I 3 Colin Deaton J 7; Staveley mw C 3 Colin Deaton J 7; Eckington A 5 Pilsley C 5; Colin Deaton J 3 Holymoorside B 7; Pilsley C 7 Colin Deaton J 3.

Division Five: Holymoorside D 1 Wingerworth E 9; Wingerworth F 4 Holymoorside C 6; Wingerworth E 3 Colin Deaton K 7; Wingerworth G 3 Holymoorside D 7; Colin Deaton K 6 Colin Deaton L 4.