Sunday Cup win for Swan

White Swan are the 2010/11 Derbyshire Senior Sunday Cup champions after they beat fellow Kick Energy League side Hasland Devonshire 2-1 in the final played at the home of South Normanton on Sunday.

Swan are previous holders and Devonshire had recently claimed the first division title which indicated the final would be a close fought affair.

At the interval Swan led 2-1, Neil Ashley and Steve Johnson’s goals cancelling out Danny Kirkland’s effort for Hasland and although both sides had further chances the score remained the same after 90 minutes.

In the first division of the league Brampton came from behind to beat Doe Lea Villa and move from the foot of the table to finish third bottom. Dave Canning gave Villa an early lead but Brampton were back on level terms before the break thanks to a Ben Sissons goal. Scott Martin made it 2-1 after just two minutes of the second half and that’s how it finished. Replacing Brampton in the wooden spoon position are Grassmoor Sports who lost their final game against Mill Madrid 3-1, Michael Wain scored twice for the Mill, Jamie Smith once.

Elton lost 3-2 to Tibshelf Town in the second division but still claimed the title on goal difference. Clowne Wanderers finished their season in style by thrashing Laburnum 8-0. Old Whitt just edged out Hollingwood by four goals to three.

Three Horse Shoes suffered heartbreak on the final day in four while the opposite was the case for Rowthorne Lane SC in four. Horse Shoes led the division on goal difference from Rowthorne before start of play but two Ash Unwin goals for Horse Shoes opponents West Killamarsh Reserves helped beat them 4-3 while Rowthorne won 5-2 at Royal Oak Brampton to claim the title.

In division five Paul Roe scored twice as Devonshire won their final game 5-0, Hunloke Arms being defeated.

In division seven the champions Renishaw MW met runners up Britannia and beat them 2-1, D Lowe and J Pleweki Renishaw’s scorers. There were also wins for Dronfield Miners, and Holmebrook Tavern.

The League’s Cup Finals take place next Sunday, the Hutson and the Chatsworth at Hall Corner, Glapwell,and the Alma at the B2net Stadium. The ties are as follows:

The Chatsworth Cup sees Highfield take on Rowthorne Lane SC at Hall Corner Glapwell kick off 10.30am.

The Hutson, again played at Hall Corner will be contested by Holmebrook Tavern and Renishaw MW this time with a 2pm kick off.

The Alma Cup Final kicks off at 7pm at the B2net Stadium, the home of Chesterfield FC and features Mill Madrid and Tibshelf Town.


DCFA SUNDAY SENIOR CUP FINAL: White Swan Bolsover 2v1 Hasland Devonshire.

KICK ENERGY Division One: Brampton Rovers 2v1 Doe Lea Villa; Grassmoor Sports 1v3 Mill Madrid.

KICK ENERGY Division Two: Bolsover Old Boys v Hady Bridge; Clowne Wanderers 8v0 Laburnum; Elton 2v3 Tibshelf Town; New Whitt 4v3 Hollingwood.

KICK ENERGY Division Four: Crown Inn Killamarsh 3v1 North Star; Harleys 4v0 Clowne Wanderers Res; Royal Oak Brampton 2v3 Rowthorne Lane; West Killamarsh Res 4v3 Three Horse Shoes.

KICK ENERGY Division Five: Devonshire 5v0 Hunloke Arms.

KICK ENERGY Division Seven: Britannia 1v2 Renishaw Miners Welfare; Dronfield Miners 5v3 AFC Angel; White Hart Spartans 1v2 Holmebrook Tavern 1st.

KICK ENERGY Division Eight: AFC Moonrakers 1v2 Hopflower Utd; Chesterfield Phoenix 1v5 Woodthorpe Inn; Hasland Devonshire Res 0v2 Grassmoor Sports Res.