Smith retains town crown

Jamie Smith retained the Chesterfield Closed men’s singles title when he defeated Geoff Gill in a thrilling final, writes Mel Buxton.

Jayden Budworth, of Speedwell TTA, became one of the youngest players to win the Ladies singles title when she defeated Natalie Kelly in the final.

Below are the title winners from the championships:

U11 Boys winner Robin Pearson, Speedwell TTA; U13 Girls winner Jayden Budworth, Speedwell TTA; U13 Boys winner Alex Tilley, Colin Deaton TTA; U15 Boys winner Ronan Kelly, Colin Deaton TTA; U15 Girls winner Jayden Budworth; U18 Boys winner Jake Meikle, Colin Deaton TTA; U18 Girls winner Amber Zygadlo, Colin Deaton TTA; U21 Singles winner Grant Bannister, Staveley MW TTC; Ladies Doubles winners Jayden Budworth and Natalie Kerry; Mixed Doubles winners Joe and Amber Zygadlo; Men’s Doubles winners Geoff Gill and Mike Bradbury; Veterans over 40 winner Mike Bradbury Rowsley; Veterans over 50 winner Geoff Gill, Cylinders TTC; Handicap singles winner Ian Jones Colin Deaton TTA.

For the smooth running of the tournament thanks must go to Mick Padley and his helpers for all their hard work.

The latest results from the Chesterfield and District Table Tennis League are below

DIVISION ONE SPONSORED BY STIRLING HYDRO TECH: Cylinders B 5 Cylinders A 5; Colin Deaton D 8 Rowsley B 2; Colin Deaton C 7 Eckington A 3.

DIVISION TWO SPONSORED BY WALLACE BEDS: Speedwell B 8 Bridge St Meths 2; Speedwell A 5 Cylinders C 5; Speedwell A 1 Staveley MW A 9; Clay Cross A 3 Speedwell A 7; Staveley MW A 7 Holmewood A 3; Colin Deaton F 7 Chesterfield Police 3.

DIVISION THREE SPONSORED BY SPIRE SWEEPERS: Oxcroft MW B 5 Cylinders F 5; Cylinders E 6 Colin Deaton G 4; Cylinders F 2 Whitworth 8.

DIVISION FOUR SPONSORED BY WINGERWORTH TT: Eckington C 9 Speedwell C 1; Holymoorside A 7 Wingerworth C 3; Colin Deaton J 0 Staveley MW C 10.

DIVISION FIVE SPONSORED BY COLIN DEATON TT A/C: Holymoorside C 4 Colin Deaton K 6; Speedwell F 5 Clay Cross B 5; Speedwell G 1 Pilsley D 9.