Rich keeps it under the hour

editorial image

Bad weather affected Matlock cycling Club’s 25-mile time-trial along the A6 between Bakewell and Matlock.

In wet, windy and cold conditions, Richard Cordin - pictured - still managed to go under the hour, winning the event in a time of 59:06 – nearly five minutes slower than the course record he shares with Peter Colledge.

Paul Hodgkinson came second, in 67:48, while Mike Blair – riding on his road bike, was third in 68:24.

Results: 1 Richard Cordin 59:06, 2 Paul Hodgkinson 67:48, 3 Mike Blair 68:24, 4 Patrick Smart 69:44, 5 Dave Wallwin 69:57, 6 Andrew Marshall 77:57, 7 Kyle Fantom 79:11. Fifteen riders took to the start line at Matlock Cycling Club Ashford five-mile time-trial where once again, Patrick Gould proved he is the man to beat on the flat.

Gould was made to work hard for his victory though as just 28 seconds separated the top four finishers.

Gould finished in a time of 11:08, with Richard Cordin in second place just nine seconds further back.

Chris Green finished third in 11:22 while Kevin White was only two seconds of a personal best, finishing in fourth place on 11:34.

Mike Blair was the fastest finisher on a standard road bike – clocking 12 minutes and 11 seconds to come home seventh overall.

Results: 1 Patrick Gould 11:08, 2 Richard Cordin 11:17, 3 Chris Green 11:22, 4 Kevin White 11:34, 5 Andrew Dearing 11:52, 6 Patrick Smart 12:09, 7 Mike Blair 12:11, 8 Matt Ingram 12:12, 9 Gary Blackham 12:39, 10 Robert Orr 12:55, 11 Nick Pine 13:25, 12 Tom Colton 13:27, 13 Josh Eaton 13:54, 14 Cameron Orr 14:28, 15 Alex Wright 15:04.

Meanwhile, awful weather greeted the eight hardy riders who contested the 7.4-mile Short Hilly time-trial.

Chris Green – winner of so many Hilly time-trials in recent years – had to settle for second place as guest rider Adam Kenwat took a comfortable victory.

Kenwat is the first rider this season to dip under the 20-minute mark, finishing in a very impressive time of 19:57.

Green was 40 seconds back, finishing on 20:37 – exactly one minute ahead of third placed rider Paul Hodgkinson.

Results: 1 Adam Kenwat 19:57, 2 Chris Green 20:37, 3 Paul Hodgkinson 21:37, 4 Gareth Ferguson 23:04, 5 Andrew Briggs 23:36, 6 Cameron Orr 25:25, 7 Kyle Fantom 25:44, 8 Patrick Smart DNF.