Pipe hits five sixes in Cockspur Cup success


Sandiacre Town 164-5, Chesterfield 166-2

Cockspur Cup Derbyshire final)

Derbyshire Premier League chairman Clive Harris presents the cup to Chesterfield 1st XI captain Ben Slater and club captain James Pipe.

Derbyshire Premier League chairman Clive Harris presents the cup to Chesterfield 1st XI captain Ben Slater and club captain James Pipe.

Chesterfield captured the Cockspur Cup’s Derbyshire stage with a stunning display at Derby on Sunday.

Having to chase a challenging total to win the final after Sandiacre Town had compiled an impressive 164-5 in their 20 overs, Chesterfield destroyed one of the strongest attacks in the Premier League.

James Pipe more than made up for an indifferent start to the season with an opening over onslaught on Sandiacre’s Ryan McFadyean as he crashed five fours and finished off the over with a hugh six.

Two wides from a shell shocked McFadyean left Chesterfield with 28 at the end of the first over

Pipe was at his imperious best as he continued with a series of savage shots and by the time his was out for 61 he had smashed five sixes in 25 balls faced and Chesterfield at 89-1 were over half way to their target with only seven overs gone.

Ben Slater had moved more circumspectly on to 22 at this stage and continued in a partnership of 66 off eight overs with Paul Burdett that took their side to the cusp of victory by the time that Slater fell for a stylish 53.

Burdett was 35 not out when Chesterfield secured the win with a full three overs to spare.

In a match where the batsmen reigned supreme, the pick of the bowlers was Chesterfield’s Brian Gladwin with a return of 2-23 from his four overs.

Earlier in the day Chestefield had overcome Swarkestone in the first of the day’s two semi finals.

The other semi final saw Sandiacre reach their target of 131 with a ball to spare against Ockbrook.

Chesterfield’s reward in addition to the trophy and a handsome cash prize is to go forward as Derbyshire’s representatives for the East Midlands title to be contested on 5 August in Leicestershire.

Denby 1st XI 239-7, Chesterfield 1st XI 243-6

(Derbyshire Premier League)

Chesterfield soon made up for lost time in a rain delayed start at Queen’s Park on Saturday when they ripped through the Denby top order with the first three batsmen out and only one run on the board.

Peter Burgoyne led the recovery with 52 but Denby looked in deep trouble on his dismissal with the score at 107-6.

However, Chesterfield failed to press home their advantage as a seventh wicket pair more the doubled the score and by the time Greg Cork was out for 66 Denby had a promising 228-7.

Daniel Burgoyne saw his side through to 239-7 as he finished on 57 not out with Michael Deane (3-39) and Johny Marsden (2-35) the pick of bowlers.

Chesterfield started poorly with the loss of two early wickets before Ben Slater and Mykylo Bird (20) steadied things with a partnership of 60 but ten runs later Slater was controversially stumped for 43 and at 85-4 with close to half the overs gone, Denby were well on top.

Drage Thompson then changed the course of the game with a stunning innings of 72 off 55 balls that saw 115 runs added in 54 minutes.

Alex Hibbert was out shortly afterwards for an invaluable 43 but with the score then at 218-6 Chesterfield had five overs to reach their target which they do in comparative comfort to record a four wicket win and stay with the leading group in the league.

On Saturday they face a severe test with a visit to league leaders Swarkestone as the season reaches its halfway stage. On Sunday Chesterfield return to Queen’s Park for a cup tie against the Derbyshire Academy.

Chesterfield 22 points, Denby eight points.