One more year for Clayton

Alfreton Town striker Paul Clayton
Alfreton Town striker Paul Clayton

ALFRETON Town manager Nicky Law has been boosted by the news that striker Paul Clayton has agreed a one-year extension to his existing contract with the Reds.

The new deal will keep the talismanic Clayton, 26, at the Impact Arena until the end of the 2012/13 campaign.

He has proved to be one of Law’s most important signings with his consistently powerful front running displays seeing him notch 66 goals over the last three seasons, 73 in total from 160 appearances for the Reds since joining from Gainsborough Trinity on New Year’s Eve in 2008.

Clayton hit 20 goals last season including a sensational hat-trick in Alfreton’s 6-3 FA Trophy extra time second round replay victory at Cambridge United.

He was also the leading scorer for the club the two previous seasons, netting 20 in 2009/10 to jointly claim the award with Liam Hearn, but he was out on his own with a tally of 26 in 2008/09.

Meanwhile, Law and top scorer Liam Hearn both received top awards at the Football Conference presentation evening last Saturday.

Law was presented with the manager of the season award for the Blue Square Bet North division while Hearn picked up both the top scorer and player of the season for the Blue Square Bet North division.

And Alfreton also had four players named in the Blue Square Bet North team of the season - selected by votes from all clubs in the division.

The Reds had Josh Law, Connor Franklin, Aden Flint and Liam Hearn all named in the 11.

There was also an accolade for the Reds media chief Kevin Miles who was named as the Blue Square Bet North press officer of the year.

The full team of the season is: Ryan Young (AFC Telford United); JOSH LAW (Alfreton Town); CONNOR FRANKLIN (Alfreton Town); Shane Killock (AFC Telford United); ADEN FLINT (Alfreton Town); Greg Mills (AFC Telford united); Lee Stevenson (Eastwood Town); Sean Newton (AFC Telford United); Paul Brayson (Blyth Spartans); LIAM HEARN (Alfreton Town); James Walshaw (AFC Guiseley).

Press officers of the season (announced by Blue Square): Blue Square Bet Premier - Derick Thomas (Fleetwood Town); Blue Square Bet North - Kev Miles (Alfreton Town); Blue Square Bet South - Chris Evans (Chelmsford City).

Meanwhile, Alfreton supporters are reminded that the season ticket discount deadline of June 30 is just a fortnight away. Season tickets can be ordered by contacting Lisa Towerzey on (01159) 392090 extension 107.