Matlock youngsters feature in final Circuit Race tables

British Cycling’s National Circuit Race Series for youth riders recently came to a conclusion and the final tables featured five young members of Matlock Cycling Club.

Monday, 23rd September 2013, 6:27 pm
Ellie Smith (centre) is pictured on the podium.

The Smith sisters performed consistently well over the series with each finishing second girl in their respective age categories; Ellie taking sixth place overall in the mixed U12 category and younger sister Libby taking 11th place overall in the mixed U10 category.

Cameron Orr finished in a highly creditable 15th place in the incredibly competitive U14 Boys category with younger brother Reuben taking 48th place in the U12 category. In the U8s, Louis Swindell took 16th place overall.

Markeaton Park was the venue for the third round of this season’s Notts & Derby Cyclo Cross League.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Warm and dry conditions, coupled with a relatively flat course meant for some high speed racing and once again there was considerable success for Matlock CC riders.

John Webster had to settle for fourth place this week in the Youth U14s race having won last week at Hilton. Clubmate Ellie Smith once again had a strong race in the girls U14s race but had to settle for second place.

Matlock’s Amelie Wayte put in another impressive performance in the girls U12s race. Wayte finished in second place behind Ava Oxley of KCA Race Team, and was joined on the podium by Matlock’s Libby Smith.

Louis Swindell came the closest on the day to recording a victory for Matlock CC as he finished second in the U9s race, just two seconds behind Derby Mercury’s Otto Chilton as the pair battled it out in a sprint.

Local Mule Bar Girl Race Team rider Diane Lee was in dominant form in the senior female race as she powered her way to a comfortable victory by over 90 seconds to Marie Jackson.

Meanwhile Matlock’s Chris Green was third overall in the men’s over 45s veterans race. Victory once again went to the in-form Jonathan Marshall who races for local team Zepnat.

Matlock’s Arthur Green finished second in the junior category behind Danny Fox of RST Racing. Green finished 15th overall in the full senior men’s category behind some very big names.

Hope Factory Race Team rider David Collins was the overall winner, edging out U23 rider Nicholas Barnes of Zepnat RT by 13 seconds.

Meanwhile, Matlock CC hill climbers Steve Strange and Chris Sharp travelled to Macclesfield on Sunday to take part in the Weaver Valley Cycling Club event, which runs up the Cat & Fiddle road towards Buxton and which had attracted a record number of entrants with 150 riders taking to the start line.

Serial hill climb winner Tejvan Pettinger of Sri Chinmoy Race Team won the event.

Pettinger – riding an aero dynamic time-trial bike - set yet another course record with a time of 18 minutes 16.8 seconds, beating Buxton Cycling Club’s Lee Baldwin (18:59.6) into second, with local Buzz Cycles rider Adam Kenway taking third in 19:05.07.

Steve Strange was Matlock’s fastest rider, recording a time of 20:37.02 seconds to finish in tenth place.

Chris Sharp finished in 56th place, recording a time of 23 minutes 35.8 seconds.