Long in impressive form

Yorkshire Derbyshire Cricket League 176-6, Bassetlaw Cricket League 179-6

The Yorkshire Derbyshire League won the toss and elected to field in a match reduced to 32 overs per side due to a rain-delayed start.

Batting first a strong Bassetlaw League line up posted a useful 179-6 off their allotted overs.

This was mainly due to a fine innings from Martyn Long who hit an impressive 62.

He was assisted by Dave Wilcock 28, Matthew Hall 18 no and Danny Bircumshaw 17.

Pick of the Yorkshire Derbyshire League bowlers was Matt Scholey who claimed 3-46.

Other wicket takers were Chris Turner 1-19, Ryan Sharp 1-36 and Matt Sharma 1-18.

The Yorkshire Derbyshire League made a very good reply. The opening pair of Richard Everitt and James Ward put on 58 before Everitt was bowled for a quickfire 36 which contained eight boundaries.

Ward went on to bat through out the innings finishing unbeaten on 74.

This didn’t prove quite enough as the home side finished just three runs short in an exciting encounter at 176-6. Steve Marshall hitting a useful 18 before being run out.

Wicket takers for the visitors were Connor Smith 1-22, Matthew Hall 1-28, Darren Spooner 1-29 and Martyn Long 1-21.

Yorkshire Derbyshire League : Richard Everitt (Millhouses Works), James Ward (Stocksbridge), Steve Askew (Hathersage), Matt Sharma (University Staff), Steve Marshall (Hollinsend Meths), Brad Sampson (Millhouses Works), Matt Scholey (Centralians), Wayne Hughes (Stocksbridge), Ryan Sharp (Hollinsend Meths), Chris Turner (Parkhead), Michael Cox (Millhouse Works).

Bassetlaw League : Danny Bircumshaw (Glapwell), Martyn Long (Anston), Dave Wilcock (Blidworth Welfare), Lee Topham (Glapwell), Matthew Hall (Glapwell), Darren Spooner (Retford), David Beard (Clumber Park), Connor Smith (Worksop), Shaun Johnson (Glapwell). Michael Parkinson (Anston), Greg Andrews (Marshalls).