Jarman wins open golf competition


John Jarman has emerged triumphant in the Matlock Golf Club Junior Open.

The youngster, who is a member at Hallowes Golf Club, Dronfield, was one of three players in the competition to finish with an excellent net total of 66.

But when a countback was held, John was declared the winner with Zac Davidson, of Breadsall Priory, placed second and Lewis Parker, from Bakewell Golf Club, in third spot.

Nathan Lee of Ashbourne GC won the Boys Best Gross with a score of 72.

In the girls section, three net 72s were involved with Aimee Wilson, Mickleover GC, taking first place on a count back from Emily Morris, of Matlock, and Jodie Peacock, of Sherwood Forest GC, who won the girls best gross with a score of 74.

The role of honour was: Overall winner John Jarman, Hallowes GC, gross 73 net 66; Best Boys Gross - Nathan Lee, Ashbourne GC, gross 72; Best Girls Gross - Jodie Peacock, Sherwood Forest GC, gross 74; Boys 2nd Gross - Ross Ward, Burton on Trent GC, gross 77.

Boys Div 1: 1st net - Jamie Booth, Chesterfield GC, G 74, hcp 7, net 67; 2nd net - Brett Austin, Tapton Park GC, G 79, hcp 10, net 69; 3rd net - James Lewis, Burton on Trent GC, hcp 11, net 70 (on the back 9).

Girls: 1st net - Aimee Wilson, Mickleover GC, G 75, hcp 3, net 72; 2nd net - Emily Morris, Matlock GC, G84 hcp 12, net 72.

Boys Div 2: 1st net - Zac Davidson, Breadsall Priory GC, G 86 hcp 20, net 66; 2nd net - Lewis Parker, Bakewell GC , G 89, hcp 23, net 66; 3rd net - Max Morris, Matlock GC, G 85, hcp 18, net 67.

Prizes were presented by Veda Kay, Matlock’s ladies captain.

Thanks are due too the generous sponsorship of Eric Grattage, Matlock Golf Club President, and William Twigg Matlock Ltd which provided youngsters playing with a superb prize table.

Andy Norton and Shaun Bacon have combined to win Matlock Golf Club’s Smedley Trophy.

The open competition is one of the club’s most prestigious and Andy and Shaun won the trophy with a score of 44 points.

One point adrift in second spot were Stuart Baker and Cynthia Machent.

At Chesterfield Golf Club, the first division winner of the men’s jubilee medal was Paul Whitworth with a gross 78 net 69.

Second was Lucas Davis with a gross 75 net 70, while third was Steve Gunn with a gross 77 net 70.

Other medal results: Division 2 - 1st Paul Bywater with a gross 78 net 67; 2nd Will Sharpe with a gross 85 net 70; 3rd John Lowry with a gross 84 net 70.

Division 3-1st Richard Weatherall with a gross 87 net 67; 2nd David Parkin with a gross 92 net 69; 3rd Richard Walker with a gross 89 net 71.

Ladies Jubilee medal - Silver 1st Kim Hopkinson with a gross 83 net 74; runner up Alice Ruane with a gross 82 net 76.

Bronze 1st Pam Cummings with a gross 108 net 72; runner up Elizabeth Cromwell with a gross 104 net 78.

Chesterfield Ladies Silver team won their match against Tapton at Chesterfield 3 and 2.