Isobel and Shaun are singles champions

Isobel Ashley and Shaun Marples have been crowned as the new Chesterfield table tennis champions.

The duo claimed their titles in the town’s closed championships at Springwell School.

Isobel claimed the Chesterfield ladies singles laurels and Shaun the men’s singles.

Isobhel defeated title holder Jayden Budworth while Shaun saw off Chris Turner.

Both matches were won 3-0.

Below are the other results from the championships

U11 boys winner: Alex Ediker Colin Deaton TTA.

Under 11 Girls winner:Jenny Morgan of Colin Deaton TT.

U13 Boys winner: Robin Pearson of Speedwell TTA.

U13 Girls winner: Jenny Morgan Colin Deaton TTA.

U15 Boys winner: Ronan Kelly of Colin Deaton TTA.

U15 Girls winner: Amber Zygadlo of Colin Deaton TTA..

U18 Boys winner: Jake Meikle of Colin Deaton TTA.

U18 Girls winner Isobel Ashley of Colin Deaton TTA.

Junior Doubles winners: Amber Zygadlo and Terry Emmerson.

U21 Singles winner: Isobel Ashley.

Ladies Doubles winners: Isobel Ashley and Hayley Gleeson.

Mixed Doubles winners: Jake Meikle and Isobel Ashley.

Men’s Doubles winners: Shaun Marples and Shaun Bibby.

Veterans over 40 winner: Shaun Bibby of Pilsley TTC.

Veterans over 50 winner: Dean Clayton of Staveley MW.

Handicap singles winner: Jack Holmes of Pilsley TTC

For the smooth running of the tournament thanks must go to Mick Padley and his helpers for all the hard work.

Congratulations go to Speedwell Table Tennis Academy on winning the National Junior League Division One title.

Players representing Speedwell were: Daniel Burton, Terry Emmerson, Connor Perkins, Robin Pearson, and Mark Bowler.

Each player has received a gold medal from the English Table Tennis Association.

Thanks must go to all the volunteers who helped with the transport throughout the year.

Anyone wishing to sponsor the team for 2013 can do by contacting Mrs B Cooney

DIVISION ONE SPONSORED BY CERTAX ACCOUNTING: Colin Deaton A 3 Cylinders B 7; Speedwell B 3 Colin Deaton C 7; Staveley MW A 1 Rowsley A 9; Speedwell A 3 Colin Deaton A 7.

DIVISION TWO SPONSORED BY WALLACE BEDS: Whitworth 5 Rowsley B 5; Colin Deaton E 2 Cylinders C 8; Whitworth 3 Colin Deaton D 7; Bridge St Meths 10 Speedwell C 0; Speedwell C 0 Bridge St Meths 10; Cylinders D 4 Chesterfield Police 6; Colin Deaton D 6 Rowsley B 4; Holmewood A 6 Colin Deaton E 4; Bridge St Meths 10 Whitworth 0; Cylinders C 9 Cylinders D 1.

DIVISION THREE SPONSORED BY COLIN DEATON TT A/C: Staveley mw B 9 Eckington B 1; Oxcroft mw B 5 Colin Deaton F 5; Oxcroft mw A 2 Staveley MW B 8; Clay Cross A 2 Wingerworth A 8; Holymoorside A 6 Oxcroft mw B 4; Wingerworth B 3 Oxcroft mw C 7.

DIVISION FOUR SPONSORED BY WINGERWORTH TT: Holymoorside B 7 AGD 3; Colin Deaton G 6 Staveley mw C 4; Clay Cross B 7 Speedwell E 3; Wingerworth D 2 AGD 8; Wingerworth C 7 Holmewood B 3; Speedwell E 8 Holymoorside B 2.

DIVISION FIVE SPONSORED BY WP COONEY LTD: Pilsley D 7 Wingerworth E 3; Colin Deaton J 1 Pilsley D 9; Eckington C 0 Pilsley C 10; Holymoorside C 8 Speedwell G 2; Speedwell F 0 Colin Deaton I 10.