Reds: Alfreton Town duo Josh Law and Dan Bradley get England call up

Alfreton town v Cambridge United. Josh Law scores.
Alfreton town v Cambridge United. Josh Law scores.

Alfreton Town players Josh Law and Dan Bradley have been selected for the England C contingency squad for the forthcoming International Challenge Trophy semi-final tie against Turkey.

And, although they have missed out on the full squad, the pair’s inclusion is reward for their fine form in what has been a good season for the Reds so far, and manager Nicky Law is delighted that they have been chosen.

Manager Nicky Law has unearthed several very good quality players over the last four seasons and the club have a terrific record of providing players for the England C squads with five players gaining full caps and four more being called into the contingency squad.

He said: “I would not have thought there would be many clubs who have had as many different players chosen as us in recent seasons so we are obviously doing something right.”

His son Josh has been called up for the contingency squad three times over the last two years and Law senior feels it is only a matter of time before he makes the breakthrough.

The Reds chief added: “It is hopefully only a matter of time with Josh and for Dan Bradley as well. Given their ages, I would imagine both of them will figure in in the next few England C squads so long as they continue to play as well as they have been doing.”

For the record, current players, left-back Connor Franklin and striker Paul Clayton are full England C internationals, as are former Reds Liam Hearn (Grimsby Town), Aden Flint (Swindon Town) and Kyle McFadzean (Crawley Town) who all gained caps whilst at the Impact Arena.

As well as Josh Law and Dan Bradley, defender Theo Streete and former goalkeeper Paddy Gamble have also received call-ups to the contingency squads.

The international semi-final game takes place on Tuesday, February 5, at Dartford FC’s Princes Park stadium.

The full England C squad is: Preston Edwards (Ebbsfleet United), Sam Mott (Welling United), Ryan Jackson (Macclesfield Town), Aswad Thomas (Grimsby Town), Jamie Turley (Forest Green Rovers), Eddie Oshodi (Forest Green Rovers), Simon Ainge (Luton Town), Lindon Meikle (Mansfield Town), Josh Gillies (Gateshead), Kenny Davis (Braintree Town), Keiron Forbes (Forest Green Rovers), James Vincent (Kidderminster Harriers), Sam Wedgbury (Macclesfield Town), Scott Spencer (Hyde), Andre Gray (Luton Town), Christian Jolley (Newport County).

The contingency squad is: Josh Law (Alfreton Town), Dan Bradley (Alfreton Town), Thomas Elliott (Cambridge United), Rossi Jarvis (Cambridge United), Rory McAuley (Cambridge United), Kevin Roberts (Cambridge United), Paul Walker (Corby Town), James Norwood (Forest Green Rovers), Chris Stokes (Forest Green Rovers, Matthew Taylor (Forest Green Rovers), Shaun Pearson (Grimsby Town), Josh Wilson (Guiseley), Ryan Bowman (Hereford United), Michael Demetriou (Kidderminster Harriers), Cheyenne Dunkley (Kidderminster Harriers), Paul Farman (Lincoln City), Vadaine Oliver (Lincoln City), Adam Watkins (Luton Town), Amari Morgan-Smith (Macclesfield Town), Sean Newton (Stockport County), Ian Ormson (Stockport County).