Burgess seals victory for Whaley Bridge in top-of-the-table clash

Cheshire League First Division

Whaley Bridge 3, Knutsford 1

WHALEY Bridge secured a well-deserved victory over Knutsford in this top-of-the-table clash in the Cheshire League on Saturday afternoon.

The prolific Lee Morris went closest to scoring early on when he spun on the edge of the box and his shot bounced to safety off Knutsford’s far post.

Despite playing at right back, Bill Sutton still got forward at every chance and on 12 minutes his first-time cross was controlled on the penalty spot by Morris, whose quick feet enabled him to shoot early and low to give Knutsford’s keeper no chance.

Jack Gregory then hit the post and Morris’ 20-yard shot was headed off the line by Jackson, while Rory Fallon and Carlos Edmondson both looked dangerous for Knutsford but their crosses were foiled by good defending by Dignan and Moss.

Knutsford upped the tempo and had Whaley on the back foot towards the end of the first half, and Edmondson’s close-range effort hit Whaley’s crossbar.

The hosts doubled their lead after the break when Damien Morrison broke clear and played a one-two with Morris before sending the striker clear to curl a low shot past Higgs.

The goal was Morris’ 20th of the season and moved him to the top of the league’s goalscoring charts.

George Burgess had a shot saved by the keeper when clean through, while Matt Brown saw an effort cleared off the line and a free-kick blocked by the wall.

Warburton gave Knutsford a way back into the game when his 25-yard shot found the back of the net through a crowd of players, after a corner had been headed clear by Burgess.

Knutsford piled on the pressure in search of an equaliser, with Brown heading a Sean Lynch shot to safety and Dignan doing enough to force Miko Lewis to shoot wide.

But victory for Whaley was eventually sealed when veteran defender Des Walker sought out Burgess at the far post and his volley found the back of the net.

Whaley Bridge: J Tattersall, B Sutton, C Moss, S Dignan (C), P Walker, G Burgess, D Morrison, R Newton, J Gregory, M Brown, L Morris. Substitutes: J Broome, M Ryan, C Fluery. Man of the match: Morris.