Two awards for hotshot Jack

Jack Lester and Aaron Downes picked up the major awards at Chesterfield FC's player of the year awards night at the Sheffield Park Hotel.

Player of the year was leading goalscorer Jack Lester who came top of a short list, which also included Aaron Downes, Tommy Lee, Jamie Lowry, Derek Niven and Gregor Robertson.

The award, voted for by supporters, is sponsored by Autoworld in association with the Supporters' Club and was presented to Lester by Autoworld's Mark Hancock.

The players' player of the year was Aaron Downes.

Having had a knee operation three days earlier, Downes was unable to attend the presentation evening.

Guests were shown a video sequence of Downes receiving his trophy earlier from award sponsor Santi Perez, the national accounts director for Global Brands Ltd.

The goal of the season award, sponsored by kop sponsor Karen Child, went to Derek Niven for his match-winning volley in the league game against Grimsby Town in March.

The top goal scorer award, sponsored by Printability, was presented by their guest Suzanne Wilcockson to leading marksman Lester who netted 23 goals during the season.

The young player of the year award, sponsored by David C Jones Insurance Services, went to youth team midfielder Craig Clay presented by youth team manager Dave Bentley.

The event was hosted by Geoff Mitchell and Phil Tooley while comedian Mick Miller topped the bill.

Next year's event will be held in a giant marquee on the pitch at Saltergate as part of the 'End of an Era' celebrations, ahead of the move to the new stadium at Whittington Moor.