Top honour for Anthony

Anthony Heywood
Anthony Heywood
Share this article

Head groundsman Anthony Haywood has brought more success to promotion-winners Chesterfield FC by being named the League Two Groundsman of the Year for the 2010-11 season.

He beat off competition from Michael Doyle (Bradford City) and Richard Barnett (Shrewsbury Town) who have both been highly commended in the divisional awards.

After a season when extreme weather pushed pitches to their limits, the efforts of ground staff across the country has now been recognised by the Football League.

Spireites chairman Barrie Hubbard said: “We are all delighted that Anthony has been recognised in this way as the fine surface he has maintained is a contributory factor in the quality of football we have all enjoyed at the B2net Stadium this season.”

Anthony said: “I am obviously delighted with the recognition but it is a team effort and a tribute to all those who help and support me during the season.”

The Football League Groundsman of the Year Award 2011 is handed out by the Playing Surfaces Committee and is designed to recognise the importance of the quality of pitches and to acknowledge head groundsmen and their staff.

The awards are determined initially using marks from referees and away managers for each game and are then followed by detailed pitch inspections and a review of management operations. These visits were carried out in late March and early April.

Ewan Hunter of Nottingham Forest is the winner of the npower Championship accolade and Carlisle United’s David Mitchell scooped the award for npower League One.

Anthony is pictured at work at the B2net Stadium.