Eckington’s hat-trick of titles

Division One champions for the third year in a row are Eckington ‘A’ after they beat Shirebrook Ex-Serviceman’s ‘B’ 5-0.

They have finished on 74 points, with Shirebrook Ex-Serviceman’s ‘A’ ending in second place. They could have won the League with a 5-0 victory against Eckington ‘B’ but Eckington ‘B’ turned the tables and played out of their skins to win 1-4 to give their ‘A’ team the championship.

EDSC ‘A’ and Alfreton ‘D’ finished in joint third place both on 70 points.

New Whittington ‘A’ are champions of Division Two after beating Hasland WMC ‘C’ 4-1 and have finished on 62 points, with Clowne Liberal ‘A’ in second place one point behind after they beat Alfreton ‘B’ 1-4 away. Clowne Liberal ‘C’ who had a bye finished third a further five points behind.

In Division Three, Brotherhood ‘A’ easily became champions after they beat Old Whittington ‘A’ 2-3 away and finished on 80 points, with NEDSC ‘G’ a further 14 points behind after they defeated Staveley MW ‘B’ 0-5 away. Alfreton ‘C’ came third another four points behind.

New Whittington ‘B’ are champions of Division Four and after beating Doe Lea MW ‘B 1-4 away finished on 75 points, with Pot Black runners-up six points behind after they beat Brotherhood ‘C’ 1-4 away. Newbold Community ‘B’ finished in third another five points behind.

In Division Five Chesterfield MW ‘B’ finished champions on 68 points after beating NEDSC ‘F’ 0-5 away with Pilsley MW ‘A’ runners-up when they beat Newbold Community ‘C’ 1-4. NEDSC ‘H’ are third a further four points behind.

Tonight (Thursday) and tomorrow, the finals of the Group One and Group Two Team Knockouts will take place at Grassmoor WMC 7.30pm start.

On Monday, April 4, the semi-final of the Team of Three will take place at Hasland WMC between Alfreton SC and Clowne Liberal Club. On Tuesday, April 5, the second semi-final will take place at Hasland WMC 7.30pm start.

Next Thursday, the Grand Final of the Team of Three will take place at Hasland WMC between the winners of the above two matches.


THE N.E.D.S.C. DIVISION 1:- Clowne Liberal ‘B’ 1 Alfreton ‘A’ 4, Shirebrook Ex-Serviceman’s ‘A’ 1 Eckington ‘B’ 4, Alfreton ‘D’ 4 Rileys ‘A’ 1, NEDSC ‘A’ 2 Grassmoor WMC ‘A’ 3.

THE ECKINGTON SC DIVISION 2:- Alfreton ‘B’ 1 Clowne Liberal ‘A’ 4, Staveley MW ‘A’ 2 Birdholme WMC 3, New Whittington ‘A’ 4 Hasland WMC ‘C’ 1, New Tupton MW ‘B’ 5 Clowne Liberal ‘D’ 0, NEDSC ‘B’ 0 North Wingfield WMC 5.

THE CLOWNE LIBERAL CLUB DIVISION 3:- NEDSC ‘G’ 1 Eckington ‘C’ 4, NEDSC ‘L’ 5 Staveley MW ‘B’ 0, Hasland WMC ‘A’ 2 Alfreton ‘C’ 3, Holmewood MW 2 NEDSC ‘J’ 3, Arkwright MW ‘A’ 2 Rileys ‘B’ 3, Staveley MW ‘B’ 0 NEDSC ‘G’ 5, Old Whittington ‘A’ 2 Brotherhood ‘A’ 3.

THE NEEDHAMS SPECIALIST UTILITY ENGINEERS DIVISION 4:- British Rail 1 NEDSC ‘E’ 4, Newbold WMC ‘A’ 5 Poolsbrook ‘B’ 0, NEDSC ‘M’ 2 Newbold Community ‘B’ 3, New Whittington ‘C’ 2 Doe Lea MW ‘A’ 3, Brotherhood ‘C’ 1 Pot Black ‘A’ 4, Doe Lea MW ‘B’ 1 New Whittington ‘B’ 4.

THE NOVA TOURS DIVISION 5:- Rileys ‘C’ 3 Brotherhood ‘B’ 2, Hasland WMC ‘B’ 2 New Tupton MW ‘A’ 3, AGD Rileys 2 NEDSC ‘H’ 3, NEDSC ‘F’ 0 Chesterfield MW ‘B’ 5, Newbold Community ‘C’ 1 Pilsley MW ‘A’ 4.