David leads the winning team at President’s Day showdown

Bakewell Golf Club winners
Bakewell Golf Club winners

Sweltering conditions greeted the annual President’s Day competition at Bakewell Golf Club.

Club president David Brock welcomed 18 mixed teams of four as the course simmered in temperatures of 30 degrees centigrade in the shade.

The winning team consisted of past Bakewell captain David Hutchinson, John Meakin, Andy Hollsworth, and James Whittaker with 87 points.

Their prize was a free round of golf at one of several leading courses in the country.

Second were past club captains Gordon Paterson and Derek Northin with Chris Ibbotson and Murray Scott with 84 points who each won a golf bag.

Third was the Regents team of Paul Dungworth, Malcolm Woods, Gordon Woods and Neil Scarfe with 83 points.

Fourth was the youngsters’ team of Andrew Hay, Harry Hay, Robert Muller and Jack Basford.

Nearest the pin at the 18th hole were Lady Captain Val Cousin and David Oulsnam.

President David closed the event by thanking the steward Justine Galley and Tim Galley her husband the chef for providing a delicious barbecue.

Pictured with bottles of bubbly are members of the team which came second and president David Brock.