Cycling: Matlock rider Patrick takes time trial Gould

Cameron Orr
Cameron Orr

Record breaker Patrick Gould continued his superb start to the season, as he set yet another club record in Matlock Cycling Club’s 10-mile time-trial on Tuesday night.

Gould was yet to go under 22 minutes for the course prior to Tuesdays event, but recent form suggested Richard Cordin’s 21:47 club record could be under threat.

Gould powered away from the start, touching speeds of 30mph on the outward section of the course heading towards Bakewell.

The headwind on the way back could not hinder his progress though as he set a hugely impressive time of 21:33 to become only the second Matlock CC rider to go under 22 minutes.

Leigh Fearn was a distant second almost a minute back recording a time of 22:27, while Chris Green had to settle for third spot two seconds further back.

Matt Ingram showed signs of previous years’ form as he recorded a time of 23:12, while Buzz Cycles rider Adam Kenway was comfortably the fastest rider on a standard road bike (23:38).

Youth rider Cameron Orr put in yet another amazing performance to finish in 12th place overall from 26 starters, recording an impressive time of 25:22.

Women’s point series leader Marianne Heffron extended her lead, as she was first in the female category (27:14).

Chris Green collected the Winster Circuit Trophy to add to his collection in 27:58.

While in the annual Long Dale 10-mile time trial, James Tucker of Buzz Cycles took a comfortable win in 25:11 from in form Leigh Fearn (26:07).

Lutterworth Cycling Centre’s Matt Sinclair win the Open 10-mile time trial, which runs along the A6 from Darley Dale to Bakewell.

Sinclair finished in 21:00 closely followed by Tucker (21:04). Gould was the first Matlock rider back in fourth with a time of 22:10.

Gould, along with teammates Richard Cordin and Peter Colledge, took the team prize of the fastest three riders from the same club.

Many youngsters took part in the Whitworth Park Circuit Races. Ben Mellor took the U7s, Sam Gould the U9s , Joel Hursthouse the U11s and George Bird the O11s.

Amelie Wayte was a clear winner in the U12s race at Sherwood Pines MTB. Tim Elsmore-Martin was victorious in the U14s event.