Three horse race at end

The top division saw a three-horse-race for the title, only being decided on the last day of the season, with a winner takes all match between last season’s champions Millhouses Works and challengers Holmesfield.

Holmesfield won the match by 18 runs to claim their first ever league title.

Parkhead, who kept up their challenge for most of the season, finished in third place. Newcomers Hollinsend Meths had a good season, finishing in a creditable fifth place.

Apperknowle finished in bottom place and therefore suffered relegation.

Top run maker in the section was Holmesfield’s skipper, Jimmy Pearson, who hit 701 runs over the season (five half-centuries and one century) at an average of just under 47 a match.

Holmesfield’s David Ward was also among the runs, making 678.

Top wicket-taker was Millhouses Works’ Brad Sampson with 78 victims.

The second division was dominated by Stocksbridge, who had a quite magnificent season, winning 17 out of their 18 matches and tying the other game.

They amassed an impressive 430 points.

Their opening batsman, James Ward, had a superb season.

He was the league’s overall top scorer, accumulating 774 runs at an average of 72.

Stocksbridge also had two major wicket takers with Andy Hibbert claiming 52 victims and Jim Tomlinson 44.

Runners up and also promoted were Calver CC.

They owed much to bowler Ed Coxhead who took 57 wickets.

Relegated where Sheffield Transport and Hallam 3rd.

Baslow CC had an excellent season, as they won the third division title.

One of their stars was Chris Cowley who hit three centuries in his total of 742 runs.

Bowler, Josh Keer also made a significant contribution, with 48 wickets.

The runners-up spot and subsequent promotion went to Bakewell CC, with many good performances from skipper Paul Fearn.

Three clubs were relegated from Division Three and they were all newcomers into the league, namely TRS, Shardlows and Richmond. They will hopefully have better fortunes next season.

The top two sides in Division Four were Totley Sports 2nd and Hollinsend Meths 2nd, who both gained promotion. Totley’s Nabeel Abdul had a wonderful season, cracking 767 runs.

The second teams of Hundall, Apperknowle and Hathersage will all move down a division, next season.

Stocksbridge CC, completed a magnificent season when their 3rd team where crowned fifth division champions. Sheffield Medics finished in the runners-up position.

There were 44 centuries scored, in what proved to be a very dry summer, with very few matches falling victim to the weather.

Top individual batting performances went to :

Jimmy Pearson ( Holmesfield) 167no v Parkhead, Div 1.

Jatinder Gupta (Sheffield Medics) 166 no v Hallam 4th, Div 5.

Deepesh Bhojwani (Weston Park) 166 v Ridgeway Div 2.

Chris Cowley (Baslow) 160 v Shardlows Div 3.

Peter McGrath (Ashford 2nd ) 160 v Whittington Wanderers 2nd , Div 5.

Four players managed to take nine wickets in an innings.

Andy Langdale (Sheffield Collegiate 5th ) 9-1 v Whitington Wanderers 2nd, Div 5.

Paul Fearn (Bakewell ) 9-16 v Sheffield Collegiate 4th Div 3.

Brad Sampson (Millhouses Works) 9-26 v Hundall, Div 1.

Dave Turner (Whittington Wanderers) 9-57 v Richmond, Div 3.

The League’s representative team had a good season defeating a strong Derbyshire County League side in the LCC trophy and then going on to lose to an even stronger Notts Premier League team in the quarter final.

The league are looking to appoint new umpires for the 2012 season.

An umpires course will begin in January and will be held at the Transport Club, Meadowhead, Sheffield. Anyone interested can contact Cliff Evans on 0114 236 6834.