Seconds continue title march as thirds secure promotion at Cutthorpe


Cutthorpe seconds march to the Derbyshire Division 7N title continued on Saturday after they thrashed third-placed Heanor at home.

Skipper John Combe won the toss and elected to bowl, a tactic that has worked so often for the team. Jordan Thompson (1-26) picked up the early breakthrough with great support from Ben Kingham with the new ball.

However, it was the old heads of John McCollum (4-21), Andrew Knowles (1-11) and skipper Combe (2-28) who did the bulk of the damage bowling out the visitors for just 124 in less than 35 overs.

Combe (41) and Liam Sadler opened the batting and scored at will until Combe was given out LBW with the score on 70. Nick Drew (22) continued where Combe had left off in partnership with Sadler to take the score to 120 before Drew was bowled off the inside edge. Ian Thompson (6*) was there at the end as Sadler (50*) made his maiden 2nd XI half century to win the game comfortably in just 26 overs.

Cutthorpe now sit 74 points clear at the top of the league with just five games to go.

While Cutthorpe’s third string beat Butterley, who conceded the game on Saturday.

The thirds confirmed their promotion from Division 10N after Butterley conceded last weekend’s fixture.

Cutthorpe, led by their inspirational skipper John Simpson, were awarded 27 points and will compete in Division 9N in 2015.