Conway is star as Matlock win trophy

Devon Conway, Matlock CC
Devon Conway, Matlock CC

Matlock Cricket Club have won the Marston Smooth Trophy.

In the final they faced Alfreton and the Causeway Lane men batted first.

After their 50 overs, Matlock reached 167-9.

J Aspinall led the way with 37 runs while South African import Devon Conway added 32.

A Mace took 4-30 for Alfreton.

After being a star with the bat, Conway dazzled with the ball, taking 3-27 as Matlock had Alfreton all out for 139 after 45 overs.

Best batsman for Alfreton was G Bush 33 with B Bhatti scoring 30.

Meanwhile, Matlock’s second string lost on Saturday by 46 runs against South Wingfield who sit second in Division 5N of the County League.

South Wingfield batted first and were all out for 146, A Lowe 40, A Bacon 33 and Drew Mullaney 3-33.

In response, Matlock closed on 100 ao, Paul Chadbourne 35, G Coxhead 3-25 and C. Jones 4-20.

Matlock’s 3rd XI lost out by five wickets at West Hallam White Rose.

Andrew Neil was in great form as Matlock batted first and he reached 72 in their all out total of 139.

West Hallam’s most productive bowler was R Goulding who took 6-15.

West Hallam won by reaching 141-5 with O Hubbard unbeaten on 87.