Connor takes Alfreton to final

The first semi-final of the Group 1 Team Knockout took place at Grassmoor WMC on Friday between Alfreton ‘B’ from Division Two and Rileys ‘A’ from Division One.

Alfreton were receiving a 45-point start which is added at the end of the fourth frame.

The match started with Stuart Wheatley against Jason Renshaw and both players were very tentative but Stuart got off to a good start and went in to a 25-point lead.

Jason then clawed his way back and at the finish it was Jason who won on the black 50-56.

The second frame brought Alfreton’s captain Robert Ashmore against young Steve Clayton and I was very impressed with Steve as he mixed good safety play with some excellent potting as he took the frame 35-74.

Up next were Nick Oakley and Dave Grey and after lots of safety play they finished up level on 44 points each which then Nick knocked in pink and black to win the game 57-44.

The penultimate frame brought together Alfreton legend John Smith who is now playing in his eighties against Riley’s captain Simon Wall and with some very clever safety play and some very good potting John won the frame 52-37.

At the end of the fourth frame with all aggregate scores totaled up and the 45 points added to Alfreton’s total, the last frame started with 12-year-old Connor Rollo going in to the frame with a 28-point lead and was going to try and hold off Riley’s experienced player Chris Bonner.

As it turned out this was the second time of the evening that I was very impressed as Connor produced snooker of a high calibre and with his safety play and very good potting he finished the frame winning 88-35 and put Alfreton ‘B’ in the final.

This coming Friday - March 11 - the second semi-final of the Team Knockout will take place at Grassmoor WMC between Eckington ‘A’ and Eckington ‘B’ 7.15pm for a 7.30pm start. Referee Bill Girdwood.


The N.E.D.S.C. DIVISION 1:-Eckington ‘A’ 5 Grassmoor WMC 0, Alfreton ‘A’ 3 N.E.D.S.C. ‘A’ 2, Rileys ‘A’ 5 Eckington ‘B’ 0, N.E.D.S.C. ‘D’ 1 Alfreton ‘D’ 4, Chesterfield MW ‘A’ 1 Clowne Liberal ‘B’ 4, Shirebrook Ex Servicemans ‘B’ 1 Shirebrook Ex Serviceman’s ‘A’ 4,

DIVISION 2:-Birdholme WMC 1 N.E.D.S.C. ‘B’ 4, Clowne Liberal ‘A’ 4 Clowne Liberal ‘D’1 Hasland WMC’C’ 4 Alfreton ‘B’ 1, New Whittington ‘A’ 5 Staveley ‘A’ 0.

The CLOWNE LIBERAL CLUB DIVISION 3:- Holmewood MW 3 Old Whittington ‘A’ 2, Arkwright MW 3 Alfreton ‘C’ 2, Staveley MW ‘B’ 1 Eckington ‘C’ 4, Brotherhood ‘A’ 4 Hasland WMC ‘A’ 1, N.E.D.S.C. ‘J’ 3 N.E.D.S.C. ‘L’ 2, Rileys ‘B’ 2 N.E.D.S.C. ‘G’ 3.

The NEEDHAMS SPECIALIST UTILITY ENGINEERS DIVISION 4:- Doe Lea MW ‘B’ 3 N.E.D.S.C. ‘E’ 2, Doe Lea MW ‘A’ 2 Doe Lea MW ‘B’ 3, Newbold Community ‘B’ 3 Newbold WMC ‘A’ 2, New Whittington ‘C’ 5 Poolsbrook ‘B’ 0, British Rail 1 N.E.D.S.C. ‘M’ 4, Pot Black 2 New Whittington ‘B’ 3, N.E.D.S.C. ‘E’ 2 Brotherhood ‘C’ 3.

The NOVA TOURS DIVISION 5:- Hasland WMC ‘B’ 0 Chesterfield MW ‘B’ 5, N.E.D.S.C. ‘H’ 3 N.E.D.S.C. ‘F’ 2, Newbold WMC ‘B’ 2 Newbold Community ‘C’ 3, New Tupton MW ‘A’ 5 Rileys ‘C’ 0, Pilsley MW ‘A’ 5 Brotherhood ‘B’ 0.