Clubbing together for a great year

editorial image

Matlock Golf Club celebrated another successful season at a presentation on Saturday.

Irrespective of the unusual wet conditions, thanks to Derek McJannet and his greens staff, the course has played excellently throughout the season.

Members have enjoyed quality golf and have achieved success both at individual and at team levels.

Saturday evening saw the club house full to bursting for this year’s Presentation Evening where good food topped a great evening.

Trophies were presented to winners by Captain Bob Whyld. Winners were:

Derbyshire Senior Match Play Champion: Graham Coppen, DUGC – Henriques Challenge Cup: Jamie Strutt, Mixed Foursomes Cup: Ian Marr & Louise Jones, Thornton Salver: BobWhyld & Carol Gladwin, Jubilee Cup: Bob Whyld & Veda Kay, Winter League Cup: Andy Binns and Dan Barlow, Sykes Cup: Tim Ducksbury, Seniors Cup: John Smith, Bill Pitts: Tim Morris, Angus McDonald: John Beardsley, Ken Gibson: Graham Coppen, Par Medal: Mike Block, Scratch Cup (Div2): Michael Peet, Scratch Cup (Div1): Richard Duff, Goodwin Memorial: Stewart Baker and Cynthia Machent, Fourball Trophy: Keith Carl and David Taylor, Baileys Foursomes: Keith Carl and David Taylor, Thornton Trophy: John Gregory, Drabble Cup: Phil Evans, Presidents Cup: Ian Jenkins. Junior members also received their trophies at the event on Saturday night:

Emily Morris: Junior 4 ball matchplay. Abbie Newman: Most improved junior player of the year. Tomas Mooney: Junior rookie of the year. Ryan Gebbie: Junior foursomes trophy.

Edward Lee, Junior Captain: Thornton junior matchplay. junior nett and gross aggregate, junior electric trophy, junior order of merit, junior winter league cup, junior player of the year.