Branson earns point

Brampton FC 2, Tintwistle Villa 2

Midtable Tintwistle visited Brookfield and took the lead in the 20th minute through a 30-yard wonder strike.

Brampton responded well but some slack defending allowed Tintwistle to extend their lead to 2-0.

Brampton then got a lifeline as Chris Graham was adjudged to have been held in the box at a corner and the referee awarded a penalty. Jim Mundy stepped up but the Tintwistle keeper made an excellent save to his right to push it out for a corner. Mundy made amends from the resulting corner and powered a header into the far top corner.

Just before half-time Dickens thought he had levelled the scores but his goal was disallowed for offside.

The second half was mainly dominated by Brampton and on the 55th minute man of the match Iain Branson took advantage of a sliced clearance to slot past the keeper one-on-one.

Brampton controlled the rest of the game but couldn’t find the winning goal from the numerous chances created to get all three points.

Brampton host Totley Sports on Saturday in a bottom end of the table 6 pointer. 2pm kick off at Brookfield.


PREMIER DIVISION: Brampton 2, Tintwistle Villa 2; Hayfield 5, Totley Sports 3.

A DIVISION: Dronfield Town B 1, Buxton Christians 4; Dronfield Woodhouse Res 2, Grindleford Res 2; Edale 0, Peak Dale Holmesfield 6, Tideswell Utd 0; Whaley Bridge Res 1, Hathersage 1.

B DIVISION: Stoney Middleton 2, Eyam 2; Tideswell Utd Blue Star 2, Furness Vale Res 3.


DCFA DIVISIONAL CUP Semi-final Kick Off 1.15pm: Buxton Town, Glossop North End Res; Whaley Bridge, Chapel Town.

PREMIER DIVISION Kick Off 2pm: Brampton, Totley Sports; Buxton Town, Hayfield; Dove Holes, Bakewell Town; Dronfield Town A, Grindleford; Tintwistle Villa, Harpur Hill; Whaley Bridge, Dronfield Woodhouse.

A DIVISION: Bradwell, Dronfield Town B; Dronfield Woodhouse Res, Holmesfield; Edale, Whaley Bridge Res; Hathersage, Dove Holes Res; Hunters Bar, Buxton Christians; Peak Dale, Grindleford Res.

B DIVISION: Bakewell Town Res, Eyam; Baslow, Wheatsheaf FC; Buxworth, FC United Tideswell; Furness Vale Res, Stoney Middleton; Red Lion, Bamford; Winster Wasps, Tideswell Utd Blue Star; Youlgreave Utd, Calver.