Brampton notch third win on bounce

Grindleford FC 2, Brampton FC 3

Brampton finished their league campaign on a high with a third successive win on the bounce.

Brampton controlled much of the first half and it was no surprise when they took the lead as Andy Barlow’s shot rebounded off the post straight to Josh Hamson who rolled it in.

Grindleford made some changes and started the second-half brightly, they grabbed the equaliser through a towering header from a corner.

This spurred Brampton on and the response was immediate as Josh Hamson grabbed his second getting to the ball before the keeper and chipping home.

Iain Branson added a third with a specualtive volley into the far corner before Grindleford set up a cagey last ten minutes as they pulled one back in the 82nd minute.

Brampton FC 3, Whaley Bridge 8

Bank Holiday Monday was the date for the Dore Shield quarter final and it proved to be Brampton’s last match of the season as they hosted Derbyshire Cup winners and League champions Whaley Bridge.

Whaley proved to strong going forward for Brampton and were clinical with every attack but a Chris Graham penalty and two from Brampton talisman Jonathon Dickens saw Brampton hit three against a Whaley defence that has only conceded 13 times all season in the league.


PREMIER DIVISION: Dove Holes 3, Furness Vale 0; Dronfield Town A 3, Buxton Town 4; Grindleford 2, Brampton 3; Whaley Bridge 4, Dronfield Woodhouse 1.

A DIVISION: Buxton Christians 4, Hathersage 3; Dronfield Town B 1, Blazing Rag 2; Whaley Bridge Res 4, Grindleford Res 1.

B DIVISION: Bakewell Town Res 2, Tideswell Blue Star 0; Bamford 3, Buxworth 2; FC Utd of Tideswell 1, Youlgrave Utd 3; Red Lion 1, Eyam 0; Winster Wasps 3, Furness Vale Res 1.

FIXTURES, APRIL 30, Kick Off 2pm

PREMIER DIVISION: Dove Hole, Bakewell Town; Furness Vale, Buxton Town; Tintwistle Villa, Dronfield Woodhouse, Whaley Bridge, Dronfield Town A.

A DIVISION: Blazing Rag, Dove Holes Res; Dronfield Town B, Edale; Dronfield Woodhouse Res, Hathersage; Hunters Bar, Buxton Christians; Whaley Bridge Res, Holmesfield.

B DIVISION: Bakewell Town Res, Wheatsheaf FC; Tideswell Blue Star, Red Lion; Winster Wasps, Buxworth; Youlgrave Utd, Calver.