Alfreton win KO trophy

Congratulations go to Second Division Alfreton ‘B’ for winning the Group One Team Knockout against Division One Champions Eckington ‘A’ in front of a packed house at Grassmoor WMC.

Alfreton were receiving a 95-point start which would be added at the end of the fourth frame plus three of the Eckington players had individual handicaps of 14 points and the way Eckington play the game I do not think anyone would have bet against them.

The match started with David Birley playing the legendary John Smith who was to receive a 14-point start and John kept him in check playing some excellent safety play but David managed to win the frame 79-59.

Next up Joel Walker giving 14 points away to Stuart Wheatley but Stuart played his heart out and although he lost the frame 82-51 put up an excellent display against Joel.

Stewart Swindell next playing the 12-year-old Connor Rollo who I have mentioned before as being very impressive, and up against a very experienced player kept his head and with some excellent potting and safety play he beat Stewart 34-49 to give his side confidence.

Martin Finnigan giving 14 points away against Alfreton’s captain Rob Ashmore was really up against it as Rob seeing what Connor had achieved in his frame set out quite rightly to stop Martin from scoring and he put up an excellent display and although he was just edged out 69-63 he had set the scene for a last frame battle for Eckington.

With the 95 start added to Alfreton’s score Eckington found themselves in the unusual position of going in to the last frame 53 points behind and it was left for Eckington’s captain Kevin Breeze to try and salvage the match against Nick Oakley.

Nick left everybody in no doubt that he was up for the challenge and with some fine potting and excellent safety play he finally won the frame 35-94 and the match 299-411 to give Alfreton the title of Group One Team Knockout Champions for 2010/2011.

Would all players and clubs please note that the Handicap Championship Finals will be played next week on the same dates as given on the sheet at the last meeting but the venue has changed and now all the three matches will be played at Hasland WMC.