Sports talent to shine at awards tonight

English International Open Table Tennis Championships at EIS Sheffield ''Chesterfield's Liam Pitchford
English International Open Table Tennis Championships at EIS Sheffield ''Chesterfield's Liam Pitchford
Share this article

SPORTING stars, coaches and volunteers will scoop prestigious prizes tonight.

Finalists at The 2011 Derbyshire Sports Awards include table tennis player and Commonwealth Games double-medallist Liam Pitchford, from Brimington, and Great Britain wheelchair basketball player Jon Hall, from Clowne, who won bronze at the Paralympic World Cup.

World champion kickboxer Jack Griffiths, from Bolsover, is another contender in the glittering awards at The Roundhouse in Derby today Thursday November 11.

Cllr Carol Hart, chairman of Derbyshire Sport, said: “There is some tremendous sporting talent in Derbyshire and it is great to be able to recognise some of the county’s best performers in this way.”

District awards ceremonies have been held across the county to determine the finalists. A full list is below.

Winners of the Derbyshire Sports Awards could go through to the BBC East Midlands Sports Awards and even to the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Awards.

Full list of categories and finalists

University of Derby Sportsperson of the Year

Anya Colley (Erewash – Jet-Skiing)

Annie Last (Derbyshire Dales – Cross Country Mountain Biking)

Liam Pitchford (Chesterfield/NE Derbyshire – Table Tennis)

University of Derby Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Jon Hall (Bolsover - Wheelchair Basketball)

Maddie Thompson (High Peak - Wheelchair Basketball)

International Golf Development Junior Sportsman of the Year

Mason Bennett (Bolsover – Football)

Jack Griffiths (Bolsover – Kickboxing)

Derby City Council Junior Sportswoman of the Year

Hannah Jones (Amber Valley – Snooker)

Molly Renshaw (Amber Valley – Swimming)

Origination Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Robert Abraham (Erewash – Swimming and athletics)

Ellie Bamber (High Peak – Swimming and boccia)

Cooper Parry Club of the Year

Merlin ABC (Derby – Boxing)

Shirebrook Rangers FC (Bolsover – Football)

Derby College Coach of the Year

Kevin Brown (South Derbyshire – Rugby)

Dave Cartawick (Chesterfield/NE Derbyshire – Kickboxing)

Phil Vickers (Erewash – Table Tennis)

Derbyshire County Council Young Sports Leader/Young Coach of the Year

Poppy Marriott (Chesterfield/NE Derbyshire – Various Sports)

Laurisa Robson (Bolsover – Football)

Derby Telegraph Service to Sport Award

Daryl Hone (Chesterfield/NE Derbyshire – Table Tennis)

Gillian Lockwood (Derbyshire Dales – Various Sports)

Derbyshire 2012 Sport Sponsorship Award

Betfair Ltd

Burton and South Derbyshire College

Derbyshire Building Society

Active Derbyshire Active Workplace Award

Cooper Parry

South Derbyshire District Council

University of Derby