So proud of our award winners

ndet 98879  Pride awards winners and sponsors
ndet 98879 Pride awards winners and sponsors

BRAVE youngsters, sporting champions and dedicated community volunteers were just some of the unsung heroes honoured in the Derbyshire Times Pride awards.

We presented honours across 10 different categories at the award ceremony, held at Chesterfield’s B2Net Stadium.

The awards, which were sponsored by Banner Jones, Chesterfield College, Chesterfield Borough Council and ADR Accident Repair Centre, were a chance to give something back to the incredibly talented, courageous and hard-working people who live in our area.

Derbyshire Times deputy editor Phil Bramley, who presented the award ceremony, said: “Our Pride awards ceremony is always a great event and a fantastic way to honour some truly exceptional people.

“The number of entries from organisations and individuals has been truly astonishing, which is a great testimony to the brilliance of our community.”

The awards roll of honour reads:

Individual Community Award: Joe Roberts for his tireless efforts working with a local groups including Time Bank and Staveley Armed Forces and Veterans Association.

Sporting Achievement Award: Teenage athletics ace Alicia Barrett, currently ranked number one in UK for the U15 60m hurdles.

A certificate of special recognition was awarded to Ryan Leighton.

Lifesavers and Rescuers: Adam Fern, Mattie Shevloff and Jacob Handley whose quick thinking saved the life of their friend Jack Plastow when his neck got caught in a rope swing.

Group Community Award: The Nenna Kind Cancer Support Group, for their dedication and care providing support for cancer sufferers and their families.

A certificate of special recognition was awarded to Mastin Moor Action Group.

Inspiring Personality; Ryan Leighton who has worked hard after the deterioration of his sight to be chosen for the England Visually Impaired Cricket team Ashes squad.

Certificates of special recognition were awarded Gary Topley and Debbie Lawson.

Fundraiser of the Year: Inspirational lecturer Mark Lievesley who has raised thousands for Sarcoma UK after being diagnosed with terminal cancer.

Neighbour of the Year: Daniel Warriner for his neighbourhood-boosting campaign Get Shirebook On The Map.

Student of the Year: Timmy Birch for his cheerful determination to keep learning, despite being diagnosed with Global Developmental Delay.

A special recognition certificate went to Nicholas Baskerville.

Teacher of the Year: Claire Rodgers for her pioneering work including the introduction of pigs to Bolsover C of E Junior School.

Child of Courage: Emily Rose Bell for her brave battle against leukemia and blastomicosis.

Timmy Birch and Theo Singh also received special recognition certificates.

A very special certificate was awarded in memory of four-year-old Georgia Ellen Double, who died after fighting Cornelia de Lang syndome, which was collected by her mum, Gail, and her brother, Jack.