DERBYSHIRE ELECTIONS LIVE 2021: Victory for Conservatives as party remains in power of county council

Keep up to date with results and reaction throughout the day as votes are counted for the 2021 Derbyshire council elections and for the county’s Police and Crime Commissioner.

Friday, 7th May 2021, 3:20 pm

Counting started at 10am, after residents in Derbyshire went to the polls yesterday and, with all the results now in, it has been revealed that the Conservative Party will remain in control of Derbyshire County Council, with 45 seats.

A final declaration on the results of the Police and Crime Commissioner elections is expected later today.

It comes after a number of high profile politicians visited the county during the run up to the election, with the Prime Minister visiting a farm in Stoney Middleton two weeks ago.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Counting for the Derbyshire County Council elections will start from 10am with results expected throughout the day. Photo by Ian Forsyth/Getty Images.

Keep up to date with the results as they come in by following our live blog below.

A message from Phil Bramley, Derbyshire Times Editor: In these confusing and worrying times, local journalism is more vital than ever. Thanks to everyone who helps us ask the questions that matter by taking out a subscription or buying a paper.

Derbyshire County Council and PCC elections 2021: Victory for Tories in county elections

Last updated: Friday, 07 May, 2021, 19:22

  • Results for Derbyshire’s Police and Crime Commissioner elections still to be revealed
  • Conservative Party remains in control of Derbyshire County Council with 45 seats
  • Derbyshire went to the polls yesterday, with results from the county council and PCC elections expected throughout today
  • Full council results expected from 4pm

Two more gains for Conservatives making it a total of 10

The two gains are for seats in Eckington and Killamarsh.

Clarke - LAB - 1,994

Firth - LD - 517

Foster - CON - 3,324

Marshall - LD - 391

Pickering - LAB - 2,144

Renwick - CON - 3,152

Rose - IND - 171


Conservatives retain seat in Bakewell

Gain for Liberal Democrats in Walton and West

Walton & West:

Boult - CON - 1,446

Geikie - GRE - 241

Lismore - LAB - 759

Niblock - LD - 1,508


Labour hold their seat in Brimington

Gain for the Liberal Democrats in Loundsley Green and Newbold

Loundsley Green & Newbold:

Fordham - LD - 1,358

Jones - CHE - 165

Sen - CON - 638

Wall - LAB - 1,284


Yet another gain for Conservative - this time in Tibshelf


Avis - GRE - 206

Barron - CON - 1,256

Leggett - LD - 53

Marshall-Curtis - IND - 582

Moesby - LAB - 1,234


“The Conservatives won the seat by just 22 votes,” Local Democracy Reporter Eddie Bisknell added.

More good news for Conservatives

The Conservatives have retained their seat in the Ripley West and Heage division.

Ripley West & Heage:

Bedford - GRE - 314

Lobley - LAB - 1,396

Moss - CON - 2,362

Smith - LD - 119


Elsewhere, they have gained a seat in South Normanton & Pinxton:

Coyle - LAB - 1,124

Joesbury - IND - 254

Loader - TUSC - 41

Siddle - CON - 1,307


Conservatives hold the majority of seats as it stands

As of 1:19pm the results are as follows.

Conservative - 34

Green - 1

Labour - 11

Liberal Democrats - 2

Other - 0

County council leader Barry Lewis retains seat in Wingerworth and Shirland

Wingerworth & Shirland:

Adlington-Stringer - GRE - 1,086

Griffin - LAB - 768

Lewis - CON - 2,536

Ramshaw - LD - 187


Results are in for Heanor Central

Page 2 of 6