Olympic Torch set for Derbyshire roll-out

NE Derbyshire District Council donated cameras to help Calow CE Primary School youngsters capture the Olympic Torch Relay parade.
NE Derbyshire District Council donated cameras to help Calow CE Primary School youngsters capture the Olympic Torch Relay parade.

THOUSANDS are expected to cheer our community heroes through the streets of Bolsover, Chesterfield and the Derbyshire Dales as they carry the pride of the county as Olympic Torchbearers.

The Torch Relay, which covers 8,000 miles with 8,000 runners and Torchbearers nationwide, started at Land’s End after the flame was lit in Greece in May and was transferred to the UK where it has been undergoing its long journey to reach London for the Games’ opening ceremony on July 27.

It will come to Derbyshire on Friday, June 29, and will first visit Glapwell from 11.33am, Bolsover from 11.52am, Calow and Chesterfield from 12.25pm, and move on to the Derbyshire Dales including Matlock from 1.45pm, Chatsworth from 3.37pm, and Bakewell from 4.23pm.

Chesterfield Borough Council leader John Burrows said: “The London 2012 Olympics will be the sporting event of the year in Britain and millions of people across the world will be watching the thousands of athletes taking part to compete for the highest accolade of their sporting careers. “In Chesterfield we have a number of events taking part on the lead-up to and throughout the Olympics and Paralympics and everyone is encouraged to get involved.”

Pupils at Calow CE Primary School have been treated to disposable cameras from NE Derbyshire District Council to capture memories of the Torch Relay that will last a lifetime.

A NE Derbyshire District Council leader Graham Baxter said: “Calow will welcome the official Olympic Torch Relay and local people are being invited to line the route and join the community celebration as the nation counts down to the start of the Games. The Olympic Flame will be welcomed into the village at about 12.25pm with music and street entertainment to create a carnival atmosphere.”

Glapwell will be the first Derbyshire village in Derbyshire that the Torch will pass through before it goes on to Bolsover where Bolsover District Council has organised an Olympicnic Sports event from 12.30pm with free activities.

School pupils have also been working hard in Bolsover producing their own torch and banner designs and these will be showcased in a celebration parade around the town.

Bolsover District Cllr Ann Syrett said: “This is a momentous occasion and one that we want to celebrate properly and remember for the rest of our lives.”

Residents and tourists will also be able to enjoy a glimpse of the Torch as it takes in Chatsworth House and the Heights of Abraham in the Derbyshire Dales.

Derbyshire Dales District Council Leader, Cllr Lewis Rose, said: “The key message to people living on the Dales route is to be prepared. Our advice is plan to arrive early and take advantage of the dozens of special events taking place in town centres and the district council’s parks in Matlock and Bakewell.

“Derbyshire Dales District District Council is proud to have been given the opportunity to coordinate the entertainment and logistics for this once-in-a- lifetime event and we’ve been working hard with our partners to make this a special day.”

Those wishing to know more about what is happening in their areas are urged to visit Chesterfield Borough, NE Derbyshire District, Bolsover District and Derbyshire Dales District Council websites for details.

THE Olympic Torch will be carried through the region along the following routes and will be passed to a convoy team between areas.

Glapwell 11.33am to 11.48am

Mansfield Road near the Glapwell town sign to Bolsover Road and finishing near the Back Lane junction.

Bolsover 11.52am to 12.14pm

Glapwell Lane near Hillstown Business Centre, along Langwith Road, Hornscroft Road, Station Road and finishes at the junction with Chesterfield Road.

Calow and Chesterfield 12.25pm to 1.30pm

Chesterfield Road near the White Hart pub towards Chesterfield along Hady Hill, St Mary’s Gate, Church Way, Knifesmithgate, Rose Hill, Clarence Road, West Bars, Chatsworth Road, Walton Road, finishing at the junction of Matlock Road and Foljambe Avenue.

Matlock 1.45pm to 3.06pm

Chesterfield Road by Bentley Brook, near Lumsdale junction, and enters Highfields School for a lunch stop at 1.49pm. Resumes 2.49pm on Chesterfield Road near Wolds Road junction, to Steep Turnpike (closed to spectators), Causeway Lane, Bakewell Road and finishes at Bakewell Road A6 roundabout.

Darley Dale 3.13pm to 3.20pm

Dale Road South near Warney Road junction and finishes at Dale Road South near Green Lane

Chatsworth 3.37pm to 3.57pm

From the estate’s third set of gates with an exchange in front of Chatsworth House with a 20minute break before it goes across the estate’s bridge.

Bakewell 4.23pm to 4.39pm

Baslow Road near B6001 junction, past Newholme hospital to Buxton Road and finishes at Buxton Road, near Mill Street junction.

Buxton 5.03pm to 5.30pm

Bakewell Road near Dale Road junction, to Spring Gardens, Bridge Street, Station Road, St John’s Road, Water Street, The Square, The Crescent, Terrace Road, High Street, London Road and finishing at London Road near Highland Close junction.

Ashbourne 6.02pm to 6.10pm

Buxton Road near North Avenue and Windmill Lane junction, to St John’s Street, Dig Street, Compton Street, Derby Road, finishing near Compton Street junction.

Derbyshire County Council is working to keep disruption to a minimum but roads along the route will be closed before and during the Torch Relay and a rolling road closure system will be used. More information about planned road closures will be available by visiting http://www.twitter.com/derbyshirecc on Twitter.

The Torchbearers include the follwoing:


Celeste Houlker, George Rose, Grant Barker, Harry Townsend, John Stamp, Kate Beer, Kate Lord, Molly Mee, Olivia Ford, Shaun Morley, George Marriott.


Adam Gouldson, Hollie Ross, Katy Wilson, Paul Staniforth.


Eloise Spears, Adam Crump.


David Raizada, Kaylet Smedley, Matt Greenwood, Matthew Jefferson, Michele Harrop, Shaun Brailsford.

Derbyshire Dales

Alex Brooks, Andy Marriott, Ben Hope, Claire Illing, Fiona Donnelly, Frances Dalrymple-Smith, Helen Hopkinson, Jason Sarginson, Kate Dewhirst, Kate Marshall, Martin Handley, Megan Mosedale, Michael Turton, Pip Leach, Robert Wells, Scott Hookway.