CHESTERFIELD: Awards night for North Derbyshire Motor Club

The Chesterfield-based North Derbyshire Motor Club held their annual presentation of awards evening at the Sandpiper Hotel, Sheepbridge.

Awards were presented by Karen Swain, owner of Swains Go-Karting Centre in Buxton.

Trophies were presented to the winners of road-based trials held throughout the year: John Gillibrand (Cavendish Cup for winning the Cobweb Trial and the Kantlehner Cup for the Winners Trial); Matt Tomlinson (the Frank Hill Trophy for the Tavern Sign Run); Anne Buck (the Woodhead Cup for the Peaks Trial and the Parkin Cup for the Roundabouts Trial) and Mick Clark (the Wilson Cup for the Non-Winners Trial).

Off-road event winners were: Matt Tomlinson (both the Charles Ellis Blanksby Cup event and the Barrow Cup event) and Neil Bennett (Deane Cup and Clark Cup events).

Social event winners were: Andy Walker (Derbyshire Times 10-pin bowling Trophy); Helen Linacre (Spring Dominoes and Ladies Darts); Kate Gillibrand (Spring darts, Shove Ha’penny and 5’s & 3’s Trophy); John Staniforth (Norman Buck archery tournament trophy and Men’s Dominoes); Richard Staniforth & Mick Clark (5’s & 3’s dominoes); Matt Tomlinson (Pool tournament); Neil Bennett (Go-Karting); Norman Buck (Herman Boyes Indoor Games and Men’s Darts) and Kate Linacre (Ladies Dominoes).

The Norman Tomlins Organisers Award was shared by Anne and Norman Buck.

In the Championship Tables the Novice Off-Road Championship was won by Angela Parkin with 30 points and received the Woodhead-FIAT Trophy. Norman Buck with 27 points was runner-up and Rachael Chapman with 25 was placed third.

The Off-Road Championship for the Saunders Trophy was won by Matt Tomlinson with 30 points. Neil Bennett, also with 30, was placed second and Ashley Turner, with 20 points, was third.

In the road-based events, Angela Parkin won the Novice Navigators Championship with 45 points. Jane Turner(15) was second and Chris Willis (12) third.

In the Novice Drivers Championship the Joyder Cup went to Ashley Turner with 15 points, with Chris Miller second, also on 15.

Norman Buck won the Navigators Championship and collected the Herring Cup with 40 points, with Andy Walker (35) second and Angela Parkin (30) third.

Anne Buck won the Sawer Cup for heading the Drivers Championship with 40 points, with Matt Tomlinson (35) second and Alan Chapman (30) third.

Other awards presented included the Harry Lilley Cup to Anne Buck as highest placed lady driver; Alan Chapman (the Hardwick “Hard-Luck” Cup); Cliff Bennett (the Support Cup); Mick Clark (the Bulmer Trophy) and the Bernard Linacre Award for his endeavours for the club went to Cliff Bennett.

The new Jack Ellis Centenary Trophy, for the “Members Member”, was won, after a secret vote by Norman Buck.