Check out our exciting bloggers


EVER fancied reading something a little bit different?

Well the cure to coffee break boredom is here with the revealing of our new Derbyshire Times bloggers.

From the thrills of fell running in our beautiful Peak District, to the struggle today’s graduate faces, you can follow their very varied lives at from Thursday October 27.

We cast the net wide for new writers and received such a fantastic response it was tough to choose. But here are the final four:

Jan Bird, 49, of Chesterfield.

She said: “In March I returned to live in Chesterfield after 25 years down south. I’m loving rediscovering my childhood home town after so long away!

“I’ll be writing on a variety of topics that catch my attention, including local history, the Derbyshire countryside and I’ll also be reviewing local arts and musical events.

“I’m already a published amateur writer and really enjoy engaging with readers. I do hope you’ll enjoy my writing and stop to chat!

Amanda Ward, 21, of Matlock.

She said: “I want to share my journey of trying to achieve my dream job whilst dealing with the struggles of coming out of university, you should read this because I’m witty and it’s going to be one heck of a journey.”

Daniel Heathcote, 32, of Chesterfield.

“My blog is all about the loves of my life: my family, running, the Peak District and photography”, he said.

“As a fell runner i get to see the unspoilt beauty of the Derbyshire hills mainly in the Dark Peak.

“I always have my camera to hand whatever the weather and photography features quite heavily within my blog. I hope you enjoy reading and maybe provide someone with a fitness inspiration.”

James Griffiths, 20, of Chesterfield.

He said: “My blog will be about non league football with interesting news stories, fused together with my opinion and some general babbling thrown in for good measure.

“A must read for anybody with an interest in football.”

Many thanks must also go to previous bloggers Hannah Lawrence, Will Jackson, Emma Salt, Rachel Weston, Dean Fidler, James Singleton, Julie Baugh and Ruben Martin for all their hard work.