BRIMINGTON: Parish council elects Peter Cawthorne as chairman

Cllr Peter Cawthorne was elected chair of Brimington Parish Council and Cllr Christine Brown elected vice-chair at the annual meeting. The following councillors were appointed to the serve on the parish sb committees for the ensuing year:

Community Centre management committee: Cllrs P. Cawthorne, C. Brown, W. Burrows, B. Weston, S. Yates and A. Bellamy; finance and general purposes committee: Cllrs P. Cawthorne, C. Brown, J. Haywood, A. Thomson, B. Weston and S. Yates; planning committee: Cllrs P. Cawthorne, C. Brown, A. Bellamy, B. Weston and S. Yates; appraisal/employment committee: Cllrs P. Cawthorne, C. Brown, J. Haywood.

Appointment of members to committees of outside bodies - Brimington Bowling Club committee; Cllrs I. Callan and B. Weston; Tissington Trust; Cllrs P. Cawthorne and C. Brown; Brimington & Tapton Community Forum; Cllrs J. Haywood and C. Brown.

In the public session, PCSO Bradbury gave a police report. Responding to a member of the public’s question about whether police engage with children, PCSO Bradbury spoke of her meetings with schools, particularly Springwell School and her liaison and engagement with the children.

The following planning applications were considered:

Dismantle of horse chestnut and replace with mature beech at 73 Station Road, Brimington - no comment; Proposed development of four two-bedroomed dwellings on land at Upper King Street - resolved that the clerk write to borough council planning officer requesting a site visit as parish councillors doubt the suitability of the land for building;

Conversion of garage and erection of first floor extension at 17 Wayside Court - no comment; First floor side extension at 2 Hedley Drive - no comment.

The next meeting will be held on June 11 at 7pm in Brimington Community Centre. Members of the public can comment any matter they wish to discuss with the parish council during public speaking at 7.15pm.