BAND: There was a good attendance at the monthly meeting of Ashover Band in the village hall on Sunday.

The musical director, Russell Bevan, reported on a busy summer of performances which included appearances at Ashover Show, Woolley Moor Show,Tansley Show, Clay Cross Carnival and Ashover Vintage Car Rally.

Plans were already in hand for events through the autumn and winter months.

The band had welcomed new members during the summer but Mr. Bevan confirmed that more would be welcomed — especially players of E flat basses.

Treasurer David Freeman reported that the band was on a sound financial footing.The meeting gave special thanks to the many volunteers who helped to run stalls at both Ashover Show and the Ashover Vintage Car Rally, in support of band funds.

The meeting closed at 7.30 pm to enable committee members to join in with the weekly rehearsal.


PRODUCE: Ashover Home Produce Club held its 66th annual show on Saturday at the village hall with over 300 exhibits.

Judges were Harold Wibberley – flowers, Les Green – fruit and vegetables and children's classes, Liz Parkinson – domestic, Harry Fisher – wine, Mary Wardle – floral art, Jean Groom – craft and photograph sections.

Challenge trophy winners were: W. Watts Cup – Harry Hopkinson, Mr & Mrs Lakin Cup – Jayne Hunt, H. Lewin Cup – Harry Hopkinson, Dora Hinchley Cup – Julie Hopkinson, G. H. Jenkinson Cup – Hilary Sterland, R. Millward Cup – Gladys Dethick, W & C Thompson Cup – Molly Chatfield, Annie Holmes Cup – Harry Hopkinson, W. Freeman Cup – G. A. Burton, G & J Chappell Cup – Jonathan Morley, G. E. Wilmott Cup – Frank Bradley, Ken Colley Cup – Gladys Dethick and Shirley Stewart, Produce Club Cup – Maureen Jenkinson, Holden Trophy – Tony Webber, H. Lewin Trophy – G. A. Burton, H. Willows Trophy – Harry Hopkinson, Mr & Mrs Marriott Trophy – Janet Mosley, Clara Thompson Cup – Gill Fisher, Bollington Memorial Trophy – Jim Stewart, J Hopkinson Cup – Harry Hopkinson, W. & J. Beardow Trophy – Harry Hopkinson, Clarence Dethick Cup – Pam Cook, Mary Bown Cup – Jack Morley.

Raffle prize winners were Pam Cook, Oliver Hunt, Bessie Taylor and Gladys Anderson.


CEREMONY: The ancient ceremony of walking the bounds of Ashover turned into a real challenge this year — thanks to Sunday afternoon's heavy rain.

* * *

Horse section results from this year's Ashover Show were:


Working hunter (JB Hope Memorial Cup) - 1, Sally Eyre (Park Dubious) Cutthorpe; small ridden hunter (Haaheim Cup) - 1, Victoria Edwards-Sonnex (Colorado III) Ambergate; large ridden hunter (Pilkington Cup) - 1, Angela Hunt (Romany King) Bakewell; novice ridden hunter (Allen Hawkins Cup) - 1, Terry Jones (Jack) Clifton; ridden Irish draught (Ranch Store Ltd Cup) - 1, Craig Kiddier (Rockefeller) Denby.

Polly Morten Hunter Championship (Emily Adsetts Memorial Rosebowl) - champion, Craig Kiddier (Rockefeller); reserve champion, Victoria Edwards-Sonnex (Colorado III).


Ponies 14.2hh and under (Nightingale Cup) - 1, Abi Hutchinson (Fizz Pop Bang) Birkin Lane; horses over 14.2hh (Fred Adsetts Memorial Rosebowl) - 1, Abigail Bradbury (Freddie) Ashover; private driving (R V Brailsford Memorial Cup) - 1, Trevor Ford (Celtic Shades) North Wingfield, best local turnout (David Adsetts Shield) - Sarah Frith (Billy) Ashover.

BSJA classes (E. H. Grosvenor Cup) - 1, Darren Walsh (Blidworths Booze Cruise); Horse and Hound foxhunter (Gilbert Memorial Trophy) - 1, Caroline Healey (Miami Star) Nuthall; Roger Wiley small open (Jordan Cup) - 1, Caroline Healey (Whiterock Diamond).

Youngstock colt, filly or gelding up to three years and not exceeding 14.2hh (Aileen Kenning Trophy) - 1, Mrs A. J. Marriott (Northedge Robyns Delight) Tupton; colt, filly or gelding up to three years to exceed 14.2hh at maturity (Oliver Kirk Cup) - 1, Matthew Hemsley (True Colours II) Ashford-in-the-Water; ridden veteran pony (Rotary Club Bolsover Shield) - 1, Rachel Whitlock (Lakeland Quest) Ashover; ridden veteran horse (Fred Adsetts Shield) - 1, Rebecca Edge (Gypsy) Curbar.


Mixed M&M in hand, colts, fillies or geldings up to three years old of Dartmoor, Exmoor, Shetland, Welsh A & B (Hutchinson Bowl) - 1, L. Ropert (Brookstones Red Admiral) Mosborough; colts, fillies or geldings up to three of Connemara, Dales, Fells, Highland, New Forest and Welsh C or D (David Kenning Cup) - 1, Julie Liston (Gwernfythan Maestro) Westhouses, who also won Tongwylais Tegwin Memorial Trophy for best Welsh D; stallion, mares or geldings four years or over of Dartmoor, Exmoor, Shetland or Welsh A & B (Kayson Cup) - 1, Miss J. Hill (Brynparc Camelia) Ripley, who also won Harry Anson Memorial Trophy for best Welsh A. Best Welsh B (Harry Anson Memorial Trophy) - B. Wray (Desarbre Cossack) Calow; stallions, mares or geldings four years and over of Connemara, Dales, Fells, Highland, New Forest, Welsh C & D (75th Anniversary Cup) - 1, Victoria Edwards - Sonnex (Inglegarth Reveller) Ambergate. Best Welsh D (Harry Anson Memorial Trophy for best Welsh D - B. Wray (Synod Rafferty) Calow, best Welsh C (Harry Anson Memorial Trophy) - Aaron Foster (Haylesse Red Flying Gigolo) Shardlow.

M&M in Hand Championship (Well Made Garments Trophy) - champion: Mr and Mrs Hill (Brynparc Camelia); reserve: J. Liston and N. Booth (Gwernfythan Maestro).

M&M leading rein (Pegmon Cup) - 1, Sophie Hunt (Stanley Grange Bridget) Bakewell; small ridden (McEwan Shield) - 1, Caroline Cook (Edentree Country Lady) Bradwell; large ridden (Baskills Cup) - 1, Victoria Edwards-Sonnex (Inglegarth Reveller) Ambergate.

Ridden M&M Championship (Chirk Mint Sauce Cup) - champion: Victoria Edwards-Sonnex (Inglegarth Reveller), reserve: Caroline Cook (Edentree Country Lady).


Colour pony (Thornton Cup) - 1, Alex Chester (Cloud Nine II) Holmesfield; coloured horse (Augustus Cup) - 1, Amy Finney (Louis Blue) Over Haddon; riding horse (Tom Dugan Trophy) - 1, Jordon Cook (Fleet Water Xecutive) South Normanton; cob (Matlock Saddlery Cup) - 1, Jordon Cook (Bustle II), best coloured (Bo and Ricky Pears Trophy) - Helen Lound (Montgomery Parker) South Wingfield.


Pure bred (Olga Arabian Cup) - 1, Marilyn Pridmore (Lukkhana of Brooklynne) Stretton; part-bred Arab (Riding Hills Trophy) - Samantha Taylor (Sweet Insparatian) Allestree.

Ridden championships - champion: Jordon Cook (Fleet Water Xecutive), reserve: Amy Finney (Louis Blue).

The event had already been postponed once because of poor weather conditions but two dozen members of local churches set off in good heart to battle stiles, hill slopes and nettles to maintain the old tradition.

They were led by parochial church council member Rosemary Early and stops were made at three points on the route for readings and prayers by reader David Russell.

The walk should have ended with open-air refreshments and a Songs of Praise service at the Butterley home of Mrs Mary Bown but, when rain began to fall, members of the Bown family transferred all the food to the village's Bassett Rooms.

They were joined there by another 12 people who were unable to make the complete walk – and the event carried on according to plan. The Songs of Praise service was led by Ashover's rector, Rev. Ralph Lawrence.

"We are all very grateful to the Bown family for their hospitality," said Rosemary. "The fellowship throughout this year's ceremony was tremendous."