Derbyshire schools excel in county table tennis finals

editorial image

Pupils from Dronfield Henry Fanshawe School overcame a strong field to be crowned Derbyshire U16s Champions 2013 in both boys and girls competitions.

The boys maintained a 100 per cent record throughout the tournament held at Tibshelf Community School, whose own side came runners-up.

Whereas the girls overcame Springwell Community College in their final to make it a double swoop for the school.

Schools from Staveley, Dronfield, Bakewell, Derby, Ilkeston, Swadlincote, Temple Normanton and Tibshelf were represented in the annual competition which sees the county’s best players go up against one-another.

Derbyshire Schools U13s table tennis team finals were the feature this week at Springwell Community College with teams from all over the county represented.

Brookfield Community School were crowned county champions in the girls competition, following wins over Eckington School and Heritage School in their group. Representing Brookfield were Jenny Morgan, Eve Pickard, Ellie Mumford and Ellie Sherwin.

Aldercar Community Language College and Brookfield Community School were undefeated prior to their final match in the boys competition, having both won four matches before facing each other in their final league game.

In what was the competition decider, Aldercar narrowly beat Brookfield 5–3 and so were crowned county champions. Representing Aldercar were Matthew Webster, Ryan Allwood, Thomas Stone and Joel Needham.

All champions will represent Derbyshire in the Zone Finals in their respective age groups.

Photograph show the U13 girls champions, Brookfield Community School.