CHESTERFIELD: Spireites plan campaign as fixtures revealed

Chesterfield FC manager Paul Cook
Chesterfield FC manager Paul Cook

CHESTERFIELD FC manager Paul Cook and his backroom staff and players have already begun assessing the 2013/14 season after the fixtures for the forthcoming campaign were released yesterday.

The Spireites who narrowly missed out on a play-off place and achieved a credible eighth place finish in the npower League 2 division last season will be looking to push for a return to the first division once the new campaign gets started away from home at Bury on Saturday, August 3.

Fans will also be relishing the Capital One Cup tournament clash against Leeds United at Elland Road in early August as a chance to cut their teeth against top opposition before their first home game of the season on Saturday, August 10, against last season’s high-fliers Cheltenham. Other fixtures to whet the appetite will include the much anticipated derby home clash with Mansfield on September 28 and away match on March 22, 2014, as well as a face-down with the ex-Spireite and now Plymouth boss John Sheridan at home on December 14 and away on March 29.

Chesterfield FC chief executive Chris Turner said: “We’re very happy with the fixtures, no lengthy trips in the middle of the week. We’re delighted.”

The Spireites have been bolstered by new arrivals to their backroom staff with first team coach Kevin Lynch, academy director Gerry Carr and youth team coach Mark Smith joining recently appointed assistant-manager Leam Richardson at the Proact Stadium.

Goalkeeper Tommy Lee is also close to making a full recovery from injury. Lee has made strong progress during the close season and is almost match fit, according to the club.

The players are set to return to training on Thursday, June 20, with their sights firmly set on promotion celebrations after their last game of the season at home to Fleetwood Town on May 3.

CHESTERFIELD - Football League 2

Sat Aug 3 Bury A

Wed Aug 7 Capital One Cup 1

Sat Aug 10 Cheltenham Town H

Sat Aug 17 Rochdale A

Sat Aug 24 Southend United H

Wed Aug 28 Capital One Cup 2

Sat Aug 31 Portsmouth A

Sat Sep 7 Accrington Stanley H

Sat Sep 14 A.F.C. Wimbledon H

Sat Sep 21 Oxford United A

Wed Sep 25 Capital One Cup 3

Sat Sep 28 Mansfield Town H

Sat Oct 5 Morecambe A

Sat Oct 12 Fleetwood Town A

Sat Oct 19 Burton Albion H

Tue Oct 22 York City H

Sat Oct 26 Bristol Rovers A

Wed Oct 30 Capital One Cup 4

Sat Nov 2 Scunthorpe United H

Sat Nov 9 F.A. Cup 1

Sat Nov 16 Torquay United A

Sat Nov 23 Wycombe Wanderers H

Tue Nov 26 Northampton Town H

Sat Nov 30 Newport County A

Sat Dec 7 F.A. Cup 2

Sat Dec 14 Plymouth Argyle H

Wed Dec 18 Capital One Cup 5

Sat Dec 21 Exeter City A

Thu Dec 26 Hartlepool United H

Sun Dec 29 Dagenham & Redbridge H

Wed Jan 1 Northampton Town A

Sat Jan 4 Cheltenham Town A F.A. Cup 3

Wed Jan 8 Capital One Cup Semi-Final (1)

Sat Jan 11 Bury H

Sat Jan 18 Southend United A

Wed Jan 22 Capital One Cup Semi-Final (2)

Sat Jan 25 Rochdale H F.A. Cup 4

Tue Jan 28 York City A

Sat Feb 1 Bristol Rovers H

Sat Feb 8 Scunthorpe United A

Sat Feb 15 Torquay United H F.A. Cup 5

Sat Feb 22 Wycombe Wanderers A

Sat Mar 1 Portsmouth H

Sun Mar 2 Capital One Cup Final

Sat Mar 8 Accrington Stanley A F.A. Cup 6

Tue Mar 11 A.F.C. Wimbledon A

Sat Mar 15 Oxford United H

Sat Mar 22 Mansfield Town A

Tue Mar 25 Morecambe H

Sat Mar 29 Plymouth Argyle A

Sat Apr 5 Newport County H

Sat Apr 12 Hartlepool United A F.A. Cup Semi-Final

Sat Apr 19 Exeter City H

Mon Apr 21 Dagenham & Redbridge A

Sat Apr 26 Burton Albion A

Sat May 3 Fleetwood Town H

Sat May 17 F.A. Cup Final

Fixtures are subject to change.

Compiled in association with Atos.