14 things to do with your family in Derbyshire this summer

Hardwick Hall.
Hardwick Hall.

The school summer holidays are in full swing as parents desperately search for fun yet affordable ways to keep their children entertained.

In Derbyshire, there’s a huge range of attractions and venues to visit this summer both indoor and outdoor, since we can’t rely on the great British weather.

Here’s our round-up of just 14 of them.

Hardwick Hall, Doe Lea, Chesterfield. See more at www.nationaltrust.org.uk/hardwick/
Poole’s Cavern, Buxton - www.poolescavern.co.uk
Crich Tramway Museum, Crich - www.tramway.co.uk
Heights of Abraham, Matlock Bath - www.heightsofabraham.com
Speedwell Cavern, Castleton - www.speedwellcavern.co.uk/
Carsington Water, Ashbourne - www.carsingtonwater.com
Bolsover Castle, Bolsover - www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/bolsover-castle
Gulliver’s Kingdom, Matlock Bath - www.gulliversfun.co.uk/matlock-bath
Queen’s Park, Chesterfield - www.chesterfield.gov.uk/Queens-Park-288.html
Chatsworth House, Bakewell - www.chatsworth.org/
Peveril Castle, Castleton - www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/peveril-castle/
Strutts North Mill, Belper - www.belpernorthmill.org/
Haddon Hall, Bakewell - www.haddonhall.co.uk/
Midland Railway, Butterley, Ripley - www.midlandrailway-butterley.co.uk/home/